Peking Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was a very uncomplicated recipe and everyone raved at my spectacular Thanksgiving duck! I'd never made duck for Thanksgiving so I am so glad I tried this recipe. I did not have a steamer so I placed the duck on the wire rack in a large roasting pan and added about 1/2 inch of water to the bottom, covered it with lid and "steamed" it right in the roaster. Then just turned up the heat and removed the lid to crisp the skin and baste every 30 minutes till done. It was perfect. Even my friend's little dog (who never pays much attention to me when they come over) is now my best friend after I fed her some of this duck. The meat was quite moist and juicy and not fatty at all. Oh, I did add 1 tsp. of orange extract to the basting mixture which imparted a lovely aroma to the meat. The whole thing went great with my homemade chutney and greengage plum jam sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charles Aiken

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Really good and easy to follow... have to really watch it at the end... we just put the heat at 375 for the last 2 min then basted and then turned the duck basted again.. cooked for 2 min ... the spices were just right!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
How about Peking Chicken? I made this using chicken instead of duck. the steaming process really made for a very moist and tender chicken. You may want to very slightly reduce the spices a little since the chicken has a milder flesh. Overall very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seaweasel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This recipe was absolutely delicious!!! My family and all were licking our sauce laden fingers at the end. I was unable to steam the duck but roasted it covered in foil for two hours. I marinated it every thirty minutes as well. I also used dark soy sauce which gave it an awesome color. thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRocka Delicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Compton, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I'm Chinese and thought this was a very good duck recipe, although not really comparable to the real Peking Duck. Nonetheless we really enjoyed it for our Valentine's Day dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This is a great recipe. Everyone loved it. I don't have a steamer, so I put the duck in a double pan (water in the bottom pan and the duck on the holed top pan). I covered the duck with foil and put in the oven at 375 degrees for about an hour. Then I removed the foil and let the duck brown (both sides) at 425 degrees. The skin wasn't crispy (it was charring so I took it out of the oven) but the meat was delicious. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I am Chinese and grew up eating duck frequently. I really like this recipe. The only problem is that the skin didn't turn out crispy. I would broil it for 10 minutes next time to see what happens. Otherwise, the taste is very good. Of course, nothing compares to the ducks you get in Chinatown. But unless you can afford getting one of those special Chinse roasting oven and have a whole day roasting a duck, this is the best a home oven can do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
The Best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by .

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
I've never had peking duck made the traditional way so I can't say how it compares to the original but this super-quick and easy version makes a crispy duck and a scrumptous spicy fruit glaze and is a really delicious recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This is the third time I've made this recipe, its wonderful. I made it for a small dinner party last. I bought two 5 pound ducks and marinated for 24 hours with a little garlic on in inside with the green onions. Also used fresh ginger. I don't have a steamer big enough so I just roast it at around 425 for 40 minutes, basting it every ten minutes, then I put on the glaze and turn the oven down to 350 for about 30 minutes glazing and basting every ten minutes then 250 till done. When I need to crisp it I turn it to broil or 450 checking it often. I wait until its internal temp is 165. I serve with Wontons and rice. Hope this wasn't confusing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States