Peking Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This skin didn't turn out as crispy as I would have liked, but the flavor was excellent. I'll probably need to work on rendering the fat better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This recipe made a duck with a nice flavor reminiscent of Peking Duck though much milder. The skin, for the most part, did not get very crispy. I turned on the broiler afterward, and it helped caramelize the skin a bit, giving it some color and more crispiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This was the first time I had ever made duck, and with my friends as the guinea pigs to test it, it was a big two thumbs up all around. Just a note of something I didn't notice till after the duck had cooked - steam it with the lid off, not on - which is what I had done. It still came out fine, just had a lot of water with rendered fat in it. For the duck sauce, I used grape jelly instead of plum, and it still was delicious and did a great job of complimenting the duck. Incidentally, a wise friend suggested I skim the fat from the water, and I used it to roast red skins to serve with it. I also served Japanese Green Beans (recipe also available on this site) with high approval all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was a very uncomplicated recipe and everyone raved at my spectacular Thanksgiving duck! I'd never made duck for Thanksgiving so I am so glad I tried this recipe. I did not have a steamer so I placed the duck on the wire rack in a large roasting pan and added about 1/2 inch of water to the bottom, covered it with lid and "steamed" it right in the roaster. Then just turned up the heat and removed the lid to crisp the skin and baste every 30 minutes till done. It was perfect. Even my friend's little dog (who never pays much attention to me when they come over) is now my best friend after I fed her some of this duck. The meat was quite moist and juicy and not fatty at all. Oh, I did add 1 tsp. of orange extract to the basting mixture which imparted a lovely aroma to the meat. The whole thing went great with my homemade chutney and greengage plum jam sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charles Aiken

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Really good and easy to follow... have to really watch it at the end... we just put the heat at 375 for the last 2 min then basted and then turned the duck basted again.. cooked for 2 min ... the spices were just right!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Pollard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
How about Peking Chicken? I made this using chicken instead of duck. the steaming process really made for a very moist and tender chicken. You may want to very slightly reduce the spices a little since the chicken has a milder flesh. Overall very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seaweasel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This recipe was absolutely delicious!!! My family and all were licking our sauce laden fingers at the end. I was unable to steam the duck but roasted it covered in foil for two hours. I marinated it every thirty minutes as well. I also used dark soy sauce which gave it an awesome color. thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRocka Delicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Compton, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I'm Chinese and thought this was a very good duck recipe, although not really comparable to the real Peking Duck. Nonetheless we really enjoyed it for our Valentine's Day dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This is a great recipe. Everyone loved it. I don't have a steamer, so I put the duck in a double pan (water in the bottom pan and the duck on the holed top pan). I covered the duck with foil and put in the oven at 375 degrees for about an hour. Then I removed the foil and let the duck brown (both sides) at 425 degrees. The skin wasn't crispy (it was charring so I took it out of the oven) but the meat was delicious. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I am Chinese and grew up eating duck frequently. I really like this recipe. The only problem is that the skin didn't turn out crispy. I would broil it for 10 minutes next time to see what happens. Otherwise, the taste is very good. Of course, nothing compares to the ducks you get in Chinatown. But unless you can afford getting one of those special Chinse roasting oven and have a whole day roasting a duck, this is the best a home oven can do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Duck Fesenjan

See how to make a savory stew featuring duck, pomegranate, and walnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States