Peking Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
this tasted fabulous. the spices were perfect, the sauce was even great. i dont like plums, but it complemented the duck perfectly. my husband was THRILLED. my ONLY complaint is that the skin did not get crispy. it browned, but was not crispy enough. if i cooked it longer, it would have burnt. i need to find a way to get rid of more of the fat, so the skin doesnt stay soggy. otherwise, based on taste, it was a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaPulk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I let the duck dry out overnight hanging upside down... turned out great. Also made pancakes to go with.. 10 ounces of flour, 8 ounces of warm water.. kneed together and let sit for 30 minutes. Roll out into about a foot long log. Cut off 1 1/2 inch pieces.. roll into balls.. take one and dip it into sesame oil and mash two together with the oil b/w. Roll out into the size pancake you want... put on pan medium heat no oil... skillet works best. Wait until puffy and brown spots, peel apart.. Serve with the sauce and cilantro.. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I made this recipe today with the following changes. Steamed it for half hour, did not have the parsley or orange. Roasted it for two hours. Made my own Chinese pancakes and served the duck on the pancake with sliced scallions, sliced cucumber and hoisen sauce. It was delicious and there was enough for three people with none leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
The steaming is key and makes it amazingly moist - the flavor was great and I'll definitely use this recipe again the next time I make duck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Parks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
It was my first time roasting duck, hence all the mistakes, and of course, not clearly reading the directions. I combined all the ingredient together, except, the sauce ingredients. I marinated the duck in the mixture overnight. Baked it for 2 hours. The skin came up dark, but boy, was it ever tasty even with the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I have never made peking duck; however i tried it when friends and family came over (guinea pigs). I didn't have a steamer but I had a roasting pan with holes on top as well as a rack that went with it on top. I poked holes in the duck with the fork after I had it sit with the spice marinade overnight. I did place green onions and a chopped garlic clove in the cavity. I placed water in the bottom of the pan and cooked with foil cover at 375 degrees in convection oven for an hour. I drained the fat and then placed it back on the rack with foil. At this point I basted it with the soy/honey every half hour. (still returned foil on top) I tried to turn up to 475 but smoking and too hot. Turned it down to 400 and continued cooking, basting with the sauce every 20 minutes. It did get a bit darker and not too fatty. I turned on broiler for about 5-10 minutes to make skin crispier. Delicious. Friend who doesn't like duck and had tried peking duck before truly enjoyed it. I doubled the sauce recipe but used plum sauce instead of jam and used mango chutney (did chop up the bigger chunks). Delicious. First time making duck. Definitely a hit. Will make again. Took approximately 2 1/2 hours to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Delicious! The sauce was so awesome I was eating it on my mashed potatoes & rolls too haha! I can never cook a duck right but with this recipe it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This skin didn't turn out as crispy as I would have liked, but the flavor was excellent. I'll probably need to work on rendering the fat better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This recipe made a duck with a nice flavor reminiscent of Peking Duck though much milder. The skin, for the most part, did not get very crispy. I turned on the broiler afterward, and it helped caramelize the skin a bit, giving it some color and more crispiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This was the first time I had ever made duck, and with my friends as the guinea pigs to test it, it was a big two thumbs up all around. Just a note of something I didn't notice till after the duck had cooked - steam it with the lid off, not on - which is what I had done. It still came out fine, just had a lot of water with rendered fat in it. For the duck sauce, I used grape jelly instead of plum, and it still was delicious and did a great job of complimenting the duck. Incidentally, a wise friend suggested I skim the fat from the water, and I used it to roast red skins to serve with it. I also served Japanese Green Beans (recipe also available on this site) with high approval all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States