Peking Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I prepared this and rabbit last week for a food and wine pairing party it was FANTASTIC!! Everyone LOVED IT...very easy and super moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
fantastic! only let sit with spices for 2 hrs. next time will leave over night for more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Braun Faso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was very good!! I made it for our Thanksgiving. I skipped the steam step and it turned out fine. I tented my duck for about 2 hours and then took off the foil for 30-45 minutes so the skin would crisp up. I used a 6lb duck so I doubled everything!! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was excellent! I had made duck before but it had never turned out crispy skin and delicious. I followed the direction exactly, and my whole family enjoyed the duck - every bit was eaten, even by my two teenage daughters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
It was really great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GingerbreadMommy
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Easy. I substituted the chutney with Hoisin Sauce and it's more authentic that way. Take Chinese Pancakes and place some duck meat inside. Drizzle with Hoisin sauce. Add a sprig of green onion. Roll the pancake. Each person does his/her own rolling at the table before eating. That's the traditional way of having Peking Duck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GingerbreadMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I made this using chicken. Reduced the spices by half because chicken has a more delicate flavour and skipped the 'stuffing' ingredients. I also didn't make the sauce nor did I serve it with any other; I paired this with 'Colorful Fried Rice'. As for cooking, I baked it at 450F for 15 minutes to get the skin crispy and reduced it to 350F for 45 minutes to an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I used duck that was shot down in the wild. And I skipped the steam part of the instructions and it still turned out delicious. Oh, and apparently chutney is hard to find at my supermarkets (Safeway). So I made the plum sauce without it, and it still made the dish delicious. Anywho, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I've been spoiled by authentic, delicious Peking duck and this is far from being right on the money. However, it is a decent substitute for making it at hone. The key to crispy skin is to crank up the oven temperature 10 minutes before the duck is done. To make sure you don't lose moisture, I highly recommend stuffing the duck with half an onion and leaving it there for the duration of the cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
FABULOUS... best duck ever!!! I always make a duck as an appetizer for our Thanksgiving. Everyone LOVED this version ... said it was the best one I'd ever made.... they were even "fighting" over the skin!!!!! Used the modification suggested by Kateriee on 2/5/07. this will be our new "traditional Thanksgiving duck"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Duck Fesenjan

See how to make a savory stew featuring duck, pomegranate, and walnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States