Pecan Turtle Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
These are one of my favorite bars! I do the topping a little differently though. When I make them I double the butter and sugar mixture for the topping. Another reviewer said there wasn't enough to cover the bars but this solves the problem and its the best part of the bars anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
369 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I give this recipe a 5 star rating with the revisions I made. I took others advice and upped the flour to 2 cups and doubled the brown sugar/butter layer. I chopped up my pecan halves a bit and instead of 1 cup milk chocolate chips on top I did 1 cup semi sweet and 1 cup butterscotch swirled. HEAVEN! Oh my good ness these are so good, the butterscotch adds so much! I topped with the chips and put back on the oven to melt them completely so I could swirl them together. YUM!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
336 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieJL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Darnestown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
This is almost the exact same recipe my mother handed down to me (and it is always a crowd pleaser). Her quanties on some ingredients are a little different: 2 cu. Flour 1½ cu. Pecan halves 1½ cu. milk chocolate chips Since some reviews think the posted version comes out a little greasy, the extra half cu. of flour may help to absorb that. And you can't go wrong with extra pecans and chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
246 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MORUPE
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I followed the others suggestions and used 2 c, flour and used 2 c. chocolate chips and slso lined the pan with foil. After cooling, I cut the bars into 1"x1" pieces. Making them bite size, they were neat & easy to eat. You could have several and not feel so guilty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MORUPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
These are great but make sure to use 2 c flour, 1 1/2-2 c pecans, and 2 c chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewel C

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
These are awesome! A local deli/caterer sells bars just like these, and I am so glad to have the recipe at last. I have a large family so double the recipe and cook it in a jelly roll pan. The bars are more of a toffee crunch (which is what I was looking for) so I don't think they are meant to be chewy. They turn out to be a rich, buttery, shortbread-type cookie bar topped with a crunchy praline pecan layer. MMMMMMmmmmm! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I am giving this recipe 4 stars based on how it is currently written. It is almost identical to the other turtle bars recipe on this site. I increased the flour to 2 cups total, and added 1 tsp vanilla extract to the caramel mixture. I took these to a church potluck and they disappeared! Got lots of compliments on them. Would rate this one 5+ stars with the above changes. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAMILYJEANS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I did as suggested, and used 2 cups of flour and 1 1/2 cups of pecans. I found the butter/sugar filling wasn't enough to cover the bottom crust. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead, I think using milk chocolate chips would have made it too sweet, and it wouldn't have held it's shape as well while being cut into bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gravitydroppings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
I recently tried some of these bars that someone else made from a different recipe. Since I didn't have that one, I checked out allrecipes and found this one. The two had similar ingredients, but came out nothing alike. These are very greasy, and not chewy like the ones I'd had. Next time I'll reduce the amount of butter...but I will be trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Chow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
These are incredibly delicious. Use real butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States