Pecan Turtle Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
These are indeed some yummy treats! I think if it were my recipe though, I'd name it Pecan TOFFEE Bars. I did make changes per reviews. I doubled middle filling, when doin' so, cut back butter by 1/4 cup...so only use 3/4 cup for double middle filling. I did add extra 1/2 cup of flour to crust, it seems like it'll be too dry at first, but it'll soak up some butter from the filling...mine did. I doubled the chocolate, BUT, next time I won't, it detracts the great flavor from the filling. Also, I will wait until the pan is cooled from the oven and I will premelt and drizzle the chocolate over decoratively. I also used almonds along with pecans, next time I will add extra, I'm nutty and love nutty :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOAPSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I doubled the caramel recipe and still did not have enough. I let the chocolate chips melt on top of the caramel and then spread them - big mistake. The chocolate became grainy and ugly. Next time I will premelt and avoid any spreading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Tonight is the 4th time I have made these ridiculously delicious bars this week. My co-workers, friends, and family have gone a little off kilter eating these. I will be filling tins with these for Christmas; since I have had so many requests. I reduced the sugar in the flour mixture by ½ and I used dark semi sweet or bitter sweet chips. Good job Marlyn; thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MontanaKydd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
these bars are so greasy that when i cut them they dripped fat all over my counter top. super unhealthy and not good to see. i actually added more flour than the recipe asked for. i have now put the whole tray outside in the cold to try to save my money and work. some one please explain what is so special about this greasy unhealthy cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Its super easy to make.... so I've tried it a few times; I'm not in love with the outcome of this recipe. I up the ratio of the caramel layer by 1/3 c butter and 1/4 c brown sugar, keeping the same ratio but not wanting to go overboard with it. It's OK with regards to taste and consistency, it's just not great overall. At least it's full of sugar and my children are less critical as sugar increases.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
These were very good and pretty east to make! I would recommend melting the chocolate before putting it on the bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmokeyJoe18
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These were greasy and did not turn out. The caramel layer portions were way off, and the description of how to make it lacking. If you know how to make a caramel, do it with your own recipe. Otherwise, far too many tweaks to make it worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissathebaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
these were a hot greasy mess!!! literally!! i added extra flour but i guess it wasn't enough. im more mad at myself for wasting my good chocolate and all those pecans :( please read all the suggestions and tips before hand. i suggest unsalted butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justasmile79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Wow, what a gooey mess. I used 2 c flour as others suggested, but there was still a layer of oil on the top when I took the pan out of the oven. I tried removing it by letting paper towels rest on top for a bit before adding the chocolate, but it never did "set". Not sure what went wrong, but this was a disaster. Sorry to give such a bad review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I followed this recipe, mine were awful. Inside real grainey. I timed everything but did something wrong I guess. Will never try this again. Really wanted to rate 0 but would not let me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States