Pecan Turtle Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I had high hopes for this recipe. I followed the suggestion of previous reviewers and increased the flour to 2 cups, other than that and using dark chocolate chips rather than milk chocolate chips I followed the recipe exactly. They tasted like nothing but butter and sugar to me - even the dark chocolate flavor was lost in the sugar. I couldn't eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly for these and everyone loved them. They all disappeared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
These are as delicious as a turtle chocolate treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
These were overly sweet for us. Not what I was hoping for. Fast and easy recipe to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
These are indeed some yummy treats! I think if it were my recipe though, I'd name it Pecan TOFFEE Bars. I did make changes per reviews. I doubled middle filling, when doin' so, cut back butter by 1/4 cup...so only use 3/4 cup for double middle filling. I did add extra 1/2 cup of flour to crust, it seems like it'll be too dry at first, but it'll soak up some butter from the filling...mine did. I doubled the chocolate, BUT, next time I won't, it detracts the great flavor from the filling. Also, I will wait until the pan is cooled from the oven and I will premelt and drizzle the chocolate over decoratively. I also used almonds along with pecans, next time I will add extra, I'm nutty and love nutty :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOAPSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I doubled the caramel recipe and still did not have enough. I let the chocolate chips melt on top of the caramel and then spread them - big mistake. The chocolate became grainy and ugly. Next time I will premelt and avoid any spreading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Tonight is the 4th time I have made these ridiculously delicious bars this week. My co-workers, friends, and family have gone a little off kilter eating these. I will be filling tins with these for Christmas; since I have had so many requests. I reduced the sugar in the flour mixture by ½ and I used dark semi sweet or bitter sweet chips. Good job Marlyn; thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MontanaKydd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
these bars are so greasy that when i cut them they dripped fat all over my counter top. super unhealthy and not good to see. i actually added more flour than the recipe asked for. i have now put the whole tray outside in the cold to try to save my money and work. some one please explain what is so special about this greasy unhealthy cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Its super easy to make.... so I've tried it a few times; I'm not in love with the outcome of this recipe. I up the ratio of the caramel layer by 1/3 c butter and 1/4 c brown sugar, keeping the same ratio but not wanting to go overboard with it. It's OK with regards to taste and consistency, it's just not great overall. At least it's full of sugar and my children are less critical as sugar increases.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
These were very good and pretty east to make! I would recommend melting the chocolate before putting it on the bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmokeyJoe18

Displaying results 51-60 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States