Pecan Turtle Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I just made this recipe after reading all the reviews, however I was a confused when reviewers said they doubled the caramel layer! It calls for 2/3 cup of butter which is almost 11 tablespoons so you doubled that and used 22 tablespoons of butter and 1 cup of brown sugar? I decided to use my old standby caramel sauce of 1 cup brown sugar to 1 and 1/2 sticks of butter and whisked it together. I also used 2 cups flour, crushed my pecans with a rolling pin, and used almost a whole bag of milk chocolate chips. Still cooling but I can't stop picking at them. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
My son actually swooned when he tasted them. They are really delicious and take no time at all to put together. I do have an observation, though. I'm sure I used a lot more than a cup of pecans. I had some very large halves and I just laid them all over the crust. There was space between, but not a lot. Second, I'm also certain that I used more than one cup of chocolate morsels. I just wasn't getting the coverage that I thought should happen, so I used more. I used semi-sweet instead of milk chocolate because that's what I had on hand. Third - I sprinkled a TINY amount of Fleur de Sel sea salt over the finished pan before cooling completely. The rage seems to be salted caramel, and it sounded good so I did it. DEE-licious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary-Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I see I should've doubled the chocolate chips. Mine don't look like the photo which shows thick fudgy chocolate. Mine have just a thin layer of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
My husband loved these. I thought they were too sweet. I took other reviewers suggestion to used 2 Cups Flour. Next time I do that but will also omit the brown sugar from the crust. I doubled the brown sugar, butter, and Pecans and used butterscotch chips in addition to semisweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I didn't have good luck with this recipe. They do taste great, but the chocolate wouldn't melt. And they were a little greasy. I followed others advice and added extra flour and used more chocolate chips. I wanted to take them to work for a baby shower, but will not be able to do that now. I will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Super-easy and delicious. I actually found it easier to cut the butter in by hand in the first step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
These were a BIG hit at my house. My daughter loves these. Will be maing these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tdunbar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
The recipe needs to be reworked as suggested by a number of reviewers. They were easy to make that is the only reason I gave them 2 stars! I nearly tossed out the whole pan! But it helped by putting them in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I made the adjustments (2 c. flour, double the caramel layer and the chips) and they were heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This is really easy and worth the try :) Husband and bro in law LOVED IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichelleA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States