Pecan Turtle Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I have made these bars for years with the modified recipe. I like to drizzle melted white chocolate on top before serving for a fancier look. Lately I've had trouble with the chocolate falling off the tops of the "cookie" part of the bar. I've tried all different brands of milk chocolate chips. Any suggestions. These bars are always raved over. Just love them even when they don't look as pretty as I'd like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BLUEYEZ510
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
These are yummy, but incredibly rich. I also increased the flour to 2 cups and used at least 1 1/2 cups of roughly chopped pecans. Definitely double the butter/brown sugar mixture or there won't be enough to fill the pan. I added about a tsp. of vanilla to the 'cookie' batter and used semi-sweet chips for the top (I'd never use milk choc, they are super sweet even with the semi-sweet). I also melted some white chocolate and marbled it in with the choc chips for a prettier look. They can definitely be cut into smaller than normal "bar" cookies because of the richness. Very pretty for presentation too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEYEZ510

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
These bars are easy and delicious!! I add chopped pecans to the top which made them even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Independence, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I used 2 cups of pecan halves and toasted them first to bring out the flavors.... also, I used dark choclate chips...... 4 cups instead of 1. The chips weren't melting, probably because I used so many, so I put it in the turned off oven (but still warm) for about 45 seconds to a minute. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I had to try these! I doubled the recipe as was suggested in earlier reviews, which worked well. However, I am not the best at following directions, so I cooked the chocolate and poured it on before baking the crust. Just letting others know out there drooling at this recipe that although it wasn't pretty to look at, my first attempt was still very edible! Yes I will be using this recipe frequently! Like when I hand the honey my "honey do" list.. Still drooling in WA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Great Recipe I modified also, Changed Flour to 2 Cups and Caramel 1 cup Butter and 1 Cup Brown Sugar perfection
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
So simple, rich and delicious. I didn't mind the base being thin and a little crumby so that's why I was fine with not doubling the caramel (brown sugar/butter). I do suggest to double the pecans though. For the chocolate topping, my husband didn't like this type of frosting form. He prefer the ones that will set hard (semi-sweet chocolate and adding unsalted butter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I took the advice of others and increased the flour to 2 cups. I also doubled the caramel layer. These were awesome! Will definitely be making these again! My fiance couldn't stop eating them: )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peshtigo, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I also double the butter and sugar mixture for the topping, and I use Almond Roca candy pieces instead of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I was very disappointed with this recipe. I followed the directions exactly and ended up with less than desirable results. It was going o.k. until the caramel mixture which did not cover the entire pan of bars. I then did a half batch of the caramel mixture to make up for the deficit. The bars still seemed o.k. I baked them only to have a greasy mess of butter (I did use real butter) on top of the caramel mixture. The chips did not melt well even after putting them on immediatley following baking and did not spread well. We decided to give them the benefit of the doubt, let them cool, and tasted them. They looked o.k. but were greasy and gritty. It's a great concept but would not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 131-140 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States