Pecan Turtle Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I made this today after seeing the recipe on facebook. It was a big hit. Tastes just like a turtle. I had to use semi sweet chocolate on the top because I didn't have milk chocolate but I like dark choc. better. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This is a good recipe and very easy to make. I doubled the filling as others suggested and my husband can't stop eating them. I hope I have some left for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I was pretty generous with the 1 1/2 c serving of flour since most reviews mentioned increasing the flour to 2 cups. Also, My caramel sauce covered my entire pan... I drizzled it slowly and had no problems w/ there not being enough like some reviews have stated, but I do think these would be better w/ a bit more sauce, I'd use 1 cup of butter and 1 cup of sugar next time. I would definitly reccomend using 2 cups of flour though cause my crust came out pretty greasy even after being pretty generous w/ the measurments. I used whole pecan halves and I think I would have prefered it if they were chopped up a bit. I did enjoy these and id make them again for sure w/ the changes I mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I have made these bars for years with the modified recipe. I like to drizzle melted white chocolate on top before serving for a fancier look. Lately I've had trouble with the chocolate falling off the tops of the "cookie" part of the bar. I've tried all different brands of milk chocolate chips. Any suggestions. These bars are always raved over. Just love them even when they don't look as pretty as I'd like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BLUEYEZ510
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
These are yummy, but incredibly rich. I also increased the flour to 2 cups and used at least 1 1/2 cups of roughly chopped pecans. Definitely double the butter/brown sugar mixture or there won't be enough to fill the pan. I added about a tsp. of vanilla to the 'cookie' batter and used semi-sweet chips for the top (I'd never use milk choc, they are super sweet even with the semi-sweet). I also melted some white chocolate and marbled it in with the choc chips for a prettier look. They can definitely be cut into smaller than normal "bar" cookies because of the richness. Very pretty for presentation too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEYEZ510

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
These bars are easy and delicious!! I add chopped pecans to the top which made them even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Independence, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I used 2 cups of pecan halves and toasted them first to bring out the flavors.... also, I used dark choclate chips...... 4 cups instead of 1. The chips weren't melting, probably because I used so many, so I put it in the turned off oven (but still warm) for about 45 seconds to a minute. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I had to try these! I doubled the recipe as was suggested in earlier reviews, which worked well. However, I am not the best at following directions, so I cooked the chocolate and poured it on before baking the crust. Just letting others know out there drooling at this recipe that although it wasn't pretty to look at, my first attempt was still very edible! Yes I will be using this recipe frequently! Like when I hand the honey my "honey do" list.. Still drooling in WA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Great Recipe I modified also, Changed Flour to 2 Cups and Caramel 1 cup Butter and 1 Cup Brown Sugar perfection
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
So simple, rich and delicious. I didn't mind the base being thin and a little crumby so that's why I was fine with not doubling the caramel (brown sugar/butter). I do suggest to double the pecans though. For the chocolate topping, my husband didn't like this type of frosting form. He prefer the ones that will set hard (semi-sweet chocolate and adding unsalted butter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 131-140 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States