Pecan Turtle Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
the butter pooled on top - the brown sugar, butter mixture needs to be heated to 250-300 degrees depending on different websites. need to try again. i would also add more pecans and chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homedale, Idaho, USA
Living In: Dundee, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I made it with the 2 cups flour and 1 cup each butter & brown sugar and let me tell ya....they were GONE in the blink of an eye! I brought them to two Christmas parties and the tray was empty beside full plates of other treats! definitely a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMZCOZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Very tasty, but kind of needed more of the caramel filling - still tasted good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourofus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I must have done something wrong. The bottom crust is very grainy. The caramel is tasteless and the chocolate pieces were not enough. I could not recommend this recipe to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLENDAPALMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I made these in tart shells instead of bars and got rave reviews. So easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I followed this recipe just at it was posted and these turned out perfect. I didn't have to adjust a thing. My husband loved these! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I had problems with the chocolate topping. I had about 3/4 cup semi sweet and 3/4 cup white chocolate chips that I mixed, since that was all I had. The white choc chips didn't melt--I don't know why not. If anyone has comments, I'd appreciate it. These were so easy to make and yummy despite the mess that I'll try again with milk choc chips and cross my fingers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I made this today after seeing the recipe on facebook. It was a big hit. Tastes just like a turtle. I had to use semi sweet chocolate on the top because I didn't have milk chocolate but I like dark choc. better. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This is a good recipe and very easy to make. I doubled the filling as others suggested and my husband can't stop eating them. I hope I have some left for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I was pretty generous with the 1 1/2 c serving of flour since most reviews mentioned increasing the flour to 2 cups. Also, My caramel sauce covered my entire pan... I drizzled it slowly and had no problems w/ there not being enough like some reviews have stated, but I do think these would be better w/ a bit more sauce, I'd use 1 cup of butter and 1 cup of sugar next time. I would definitly reccomend using 2 cups of flour though cause my crust came out pretty greasy even after being pretty generous w/ the measurments. I used whole pecan halves and I think I would have prefered it if they were chopped up a bit. I did enjoy these and id make them again for sure w/ the changes I mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States