Pecan Tassies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Great recipe. They were a Christmas hit! I didn't expect there to be a yummy syrup inside once cooled. It was a wonderful surprise. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelseyville, California, USA
Living In: Seymour, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
My sister is the only one in the family who absolutely loves pecan pie. I make it especially for her every Thanksgiving. This was a great way to make individual pecan tarts without having to make a whole pie. And I think they go faster because of the bite size pieces. All in all it was a hit. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Only thing I do different is I use real butter. I never use margarine. This is a real crowd pleaser. I have subbed walnuts in the past and have made mini pumpkin pies out of these also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
These are my favorite cookies to make during Christmas time. I do use real butter instead of margarine though, as everyone seems to prefer it. Also, to save time, after rolling the dough into balls and placing them into mini muffin tins, I wrap a plastic sandwich bag around a wine cork or the top of an empty small water bottle and press this into each ball. After that, I only need to do a little reshaping before pouring the filling in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
254 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
really excellent recipe. A fun addition is to take a square of semi-sweet baking chocolate, melt it and mix in with the filling. It makes for chocolatey, nutty goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
These are absolutely delectable! However, it took me over two hours to make them all (and I had 4 pans!). And just a tip-- this recipe made more like 7 or 8 dozen. Also, I would highly recommend being careful not to overfill them. If the filling overflows it is a huge pain to remove them from the pans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I found these to be delicious and have added this recipe to my recipe box. The only step I added was to make sure to flour my hands when making the balls so I could press them into the molds without them sticking to me. I also did not have a problem taking them out of the molds at the end. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Pretty good but had to make some adjustments. I made the balls of dough smaller than the size of a walnut (to allow more space for MORE FILLING-as another reviewer mentioned there wasn't enough filling), and used a floured mini tart shaper to press the dough into the molds. I also sparingly sprinkled pecans in the molds(1/2 tsp?). I'm glad I did because the egg white filling really does puff up during baking. I checked on the tassies after 15 minutes of baking at 350°F. Maybe it's just my oven but they were merely a pale golden color. I ended up baking them for a total of 22 minutes when the edges finally reached a light tan color. Nonetheless, they tasted wonderful. Definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baybee Caix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
These are very tasty and are always a hit at holiday parties. Use a mini tart shaper to form the dough in your muffin tins. It makes it a lot easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russellville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Yum, yum, good stuff! I halfed the recipe just because I had a lot of other baking done. I also added a little maple flvouring. The last batch I added some dark chocolate bits. Next time (and there will be a next time) I will add a little rum just to try it.... Easy and good as is....it's just fun to tweak things. I also had dough left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States