Pecan Tassies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Pretty good but had to make some adjustments. I made the balls of dough smaller than the size of a walnut (to allow more space for MORE FILLING-as another reviewer mentioned there wasn't enough filling), and used a floured mini tart shaper to press the dough into the molds. I also sparingly sprinkled pecans in the molds(1/2 tsp?). I'm glad I did because the egg white filling really does puff up during baking. I checked on the tassies after 15 minutes of baking at 350°F. Maybe it's just my oven but they were merely a pale golden color. I ended up baking them for a total of 22 minutes when the edges finally reached a light tan color. Nonetheless, they tasted wonderful. Definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baybee Caix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
These are very tasty and are always a hit at holiday parties. Use a mini tart shaper to form the dough in your muffin tins. It makes it a lot easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russellville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Yum, yum, good stuff! I halfed the recipe just because I had a lot of other baking done. I also added a little maple flvouring. The last batch I added some dark chocolate bits. Next time (and there will be a next time) I will add a little rum just to try it.... Easy and good as is....it's just fun to tweak things. I also had dough left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3D's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
very, very good. as another reviewer stated, i also added sugar to the dough. I will be adding these to my tray of christmas cookies this year. THANKS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Riverdale, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
They were a bit difficult to remove from the mini-muffin pan since the crust is so delicate. I have made them again but instead of making the dough, I have used phyllo tartlet shells and they are still very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
These made me think of my precious Memaw. She always made them at Christmas. I inherited her handwritten recipe, but it got wet one year and is unreadable. This is as close as I've ever gotten to her recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
My hubby gave these a 5, I give them a 3, hence the 4. These turned out dry for me but hubby would eat pecan anything and rave about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Definitely worth the bit of work involved. A nice Christmas cookie. This is the second CXhristmas I have made these and they always get rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
great tasting, the only thing i did different was to not add pecans to the liquid. i place some in the bottom of the tarts and pured the liquid on top. also i finely chopped some pecans and sprinkle them over the top this made them a little crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States