Pecan Tassies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I made these for the first time and they tasted good. I did make the crust too thick though. This made them very dry. I should have known there was a problem when I had so much filling left over. With too much dough in the muffin pan there wasn't as much room for the filling. Will definetely make these again, but will thin out the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
OMG...Great recipe. I decided to try this recipe instead of my old one. Boy are they good! I used walnuts, didnt have any pecans on hand. Little time consuming, but worth every minute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
These are amazing! I made these for a meeting where 40 people attended, and received rave reviews from everyone who tried one. I added 1 tsp. cinnamon, 2 tbl. packed brown sugar, 2 tsp. of vanilla, and 1/2 tsp. salt (because I used unsalted butter) to the crust; next time I would add another 1/4 tsp. salt. I also added 1 tsp. of cinnamon to the pecan filling mixture. I used a tablespoon to measure both the crust and the filling, and got 61 tablespoons of crust and 58 tablespoons of filling...not bad given the yield of 60 as stated in the recipe! I filled the remaining three crusts with leftover chopped pecans and brown sugar, and they turned out to be pretty yummy little pecan packets! I took a lot of time to form the crusts so that each one had a lip around the edge, and I had zero problems with filling escaping them. After trying, my family has requested that I make these for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I have a recipe for Pecan Tassies, but couldn't find it...so, I made these for a special family party and everyone loved them...more than my original recipe! I will add, however, the baked cookie does look a little different than the others (I wondered what I did wrong)... but they taste very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Not what I expected. I've had pecan tassies that are delicious; these are just ok. I didn't like the consistency of the filling and I think it needed something else. The dough itself was pretty tastless...as I was making it I kept thinking that there should be something else in it, but I still stuck to the recipe stated. I think I'll keep looking for other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesa97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Made these last Christmas and they were a huge hit! I was pressed for time, so I used phyllo tartlet shells instead of making the shells from scratch, which majorly cut down the prep time. Make sure you keep stirring your filling as you fill cups, as my nuts kept sinking to the bottom. A dash of cinnamon and nutmeg really perks up the filling as well! Mine turned out perfect. The filling from this recipe made a LOT, probably closer to 6 or 7 dozen using phyllo shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
With all the flavor oozing out of these, you would never quess the recipe could be so easy. I absolutely love these and make them especially around the holidays. They are incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sturgis, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Delta, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
These are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utica, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This is now our official family Christmas cookie. I follow the instructions exactly except that I use real butter instead of margarine. The dough is very sticky. Chilling it overnight helps make it easier to handle. The thicker the pastry is in the muffin cup, the easier it is to remove it from the pan intact after baking. Nonstick pans sprayed with cooking spray are a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I love these pastries. I have made them for years except my recipe had chopped fresh cranberries in the filling. I lost my recipe, but now can use this and just add the cranberries. This year, I am using the PC tartlet pan and tart tool. So much easier than using cupcake pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari Boulden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States