Pecan Tassies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Great recipe. They were a Christmas hit! I didn't expect there to be a yummy syrup inside once cooled. It was a wonderful surprise. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelseyville, California, USA
Living In: Seymour, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
My sister is the only one in the family who absolutely loves pecan pie. I make it especially for her every Thanksgiving. This was a great way to make individual pecan tarts without having to make a whole pie. And I think they go faster because of the bite size pieces. All in all it was a hit. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Only thing I do different is I use real butter. I never use margarine. This is a real crowd pleaser. I have subbed walnuts in the past and have made mini pumpkin pies out of these also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
These are my favorite cookies to make during Christmas time. I do use real butter instead of margarine though, as everyone seems to prefer it. Also, to save time, after rolling the dough into balls and placing them into mini muffin tins, I wrap a plastic sandwich bag around a wine cork or the top of an empty small water bottle and press this into each ball. After that, I only need to do a little reshaping before pouring the filling in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
254 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
really excellent recipe. A fun addition is to take a square of semi-sweet baking chocolate, melt it and mix in with the filling. It makes for chocolatey, nutty goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
These are absolutely delectable! However, it took me over two hours to make them all (and I had 4 pans!). And just a tip-- this recipe made more like 7 or 8 dozen. Also, I would highly recommend being careful not to overfill them. If the filling overflows it is a huge pain to remove them from the pans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I found these to be delicious and have added this recipe to my recipe box. The only step I added was to make sure to flour my hands when making the balls so I could press them into the molds without them sticking to me. I also did not have a problem taking them out of the molds at the end. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Pretty good but had to make some adjustments. I made the balls of dough smaller than the size of a walnut (to allow more space for MORE FILLING-as another reviewer mentioned there wasn't enough filling), and used a floured mini tart shaper to press the dough into the molds. I also sparingly sprinkled pecans in the molds(1/2 tsp?). I'm glad I did because the egg white filling really does puff up during baking. I checked on the tassies after 15 minutes of baking at 350°F. Maybe it's just my oven but they were merely a pale golden color. I ended up baking them for a total of 22 minutes when the edges finally reached a light tan color. Nonetheless, they tasted wonderful. Definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baybee Caix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
These are very tasty and are always a hit at holiday parties. Use a mini tart shaper to form the dough in your muffin tins. It makes it a lot easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russellville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Yum, yum, good stuff! I halfed the recipe just because I had a lot of other baking done. I also added a little maple flvouring. The last batch I added some dark chocolate bits. Next time (and there will be a next time) I will add a little rum just to try it.... Easy and good as is....it's just fun to tweak things. I also had dough left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States