Pecan Tassies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
The filling was delicious, but the crusts weren't too tasteful. A little thick, floury, and boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rollmeup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Great! I used just the filling and put it in store bought pastry shells. It tastes like pecan pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Very yummy! Use as little dough as possible, and put extra pecans in the filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicolekrystyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Fantastic! I added an extra 1/2 cup of pecans (for a total of 2 cups) and also added 1 t vanilla to the crust. Make sure you don't overfill the crust- it makes for a sticky mess :) The crust is quite delicious, I've put other types of chocolate tarts and fruit cups in them as well. Keep in mind the tassies are a bit time consuming to make...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I made these at Christmas and everyone loved them. My Mother used to make these when I was a kid and they were always a hit. I am not a big fan of cream cheese on or in anything but a bagel but it was perfect in this recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I have been making these for more than 30 years. I simply call mine "nut toffees." I always spoon in a bit of pineapple preserves on the bottom of the tart before adding the toffee mixture (which I make without mixing in the nuts) and then sprinkle my chopped nuts (pecan or walnut) on top. Use a mini tart shaper (a nifty little gadget you could probably pick up at Pampered Chef) to press the dough into the pan, saves a lot of time and saves your thumb as well. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stoneville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laila
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
These turned out to taste good, but DIDN'T look good. I took these to a party, friends admitted that they were hesitant to sample these due to their appearance, but upon tasting them, they thought they were delicious. Several notable tips are: make sure that you FORM A SHELL with the dough (do not simply create a depression) - mold the dough into a shell-shape. Also, if you use too much dough for the shell, it may not cook thoroughly. I also advise baking the shells and once they are mostly done, add the filling and continue baking (as recommended in the "Butter Pecan Tartlets" recipe from this site). I had also added about one tablespoon of brown sugar to the dough mixture; next time I will add more. I am currently rating this as 3 stars, but if/when I try again, I may revise my rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
These were an over all hit at my house. I used butter in place of the margarine. I never use margarine for anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langhorne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I thought these were a little doughy, but everyone else who had some loved them. I used mini muffin pans with paper liners, so I had to bake them a little longer than stated, but they looked great. Definitely be careful not to use too much dough! My first pan of these didn't come out right due to overfilling the muffin cups with dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States