Pecan Tassies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Well I don't like to criticize but there's TOO much flour in the dough part of the recipe, I had to add a stick of butter to counteract it. Otherwise they came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Great recipe. In a hurry, I used Pillsbury rolled pie crusts that come in 2 in a box instead of making this crust. I made the filling as stated except I used 2 cups nuts (3 to 1 pecans to walnuts) because I was short on pecans. They were really mini pecan pies and were a hit with everyone who ate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I used store brought pie dough instead and they turned out great! Just like Grandmother's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
These are great. I was looking for a recipe that was close to my grandmothers, and this really matched it perfectly. I got 81 cookies out of this recipe following the instruction almost exact. I only used 8 oz of cream cheese because I had an 8 oz block. I also used the pecan cookie pieces so I didn't have to chop them. With the right tools these cookies are a snap. As other reviews have mentioned the Pampered Chef tart shaper and the small scoop are a pure time saver. I didn't roll the cookies in balls just used the small scoop then the tart shaper dipping it in flour after every couple cookies. I do caution against over filling the cookies, luckily I have a great non-stick Wilton tart pan that everything just slides right out. I was surpries when someone said they usually double the filling because I had about a 1/3 cup left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I have made these for years and these are great. Pampered chef has a recipe like this and they also have what is called a tart shaper to push down to make them. This saves so much time and it works so good. I don't remember how much it cost, but if you check out there web site I'm sure anyone can get one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee
Home Town: Appleton, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Definitely time consuming...but the outcome is DELICIOUS! And I don't even like pecan pie all that much. Be sure to press the dough really thin in the mini muffin pan. The thinner the crust...the better! I could actually see the color of the pan n some spots through the dough. I then baked the pastry for 5 minutes with no filling. I removed them, filled them almost to the top, and baked them another 15 minutes. They came out great! Use a knife to remove them from the muffin pan. If there is a little filling that baked to the pan, be sure to loosen this before trying to scoop out the whole tart. I will be making these again! Oh and I added a drop of almond extract to the crust for a little more taste. MM mm mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Very good cookie! Don't overfill the mold or it'll be hell getting them out of the pan. Also - I usually have to make twice the amount of filling per one batch of dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This recipe is easy and delicious! I also used pumpkin pie filling with the dough (24 min at 360 deg) and they were fantastic, too! So cute and tasty, a real crowd pleaser :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimi926

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Just finished making this for the first time. It was a trial run for my daughter's wedding - the groom's request. It made 8 dozen instead of 5 as the recipe stated. I have now ordered a tart press from pampered chef. I think that will give the shells a more uniformed look. Don't over fill the shells...it take less filling than you think. Use a small melon baller to help keep each one the same size. I don't really like pecan pie, but these have a nice flavor. I guess in a few months I will be making a few hundred of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cwalker_06

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Auntie D in MN
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I'll agree with other reviewers that this is a very time consuming, labor intensive recipe. And because of that, I don't think the results are 5 star. These are OK, but not out of this world. I used a small cookie dough scoop to scoop balls of dough into the mini muffin tin to keep the shells uniform. I also had the pampered chef tool that forms the shells, but even with that it still takes a while to make. And as another reviewer said, do not overfill the shells because the filling will stick to the pan and make the tassies difficult to remove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States