Pecan Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
Overall, this is a keeper of a recipe. However, I had to make some adjustments as I went along. First, make sure that the eggs that you use are large, or extra-large, otherwise you will have to use a little water to make the pastry the right consistency to pat into the mini muffin pan. Also, I added a pinch of salt to both the pastry dough, and the filling. It's kind of cumbersome to work with one pan as I did...if I make this recipe again, which I probably will, I will invest in another muffin tin, that way I can bake the shells all at the same temperature, and then lower the temp for the filling. Otherwise, this is a very nice recipe to fill in your holiday cookie tray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
Wonderful - big hit!! Don't forget to have some halved pecans on hand for the tops - the list of ingredients leaves this out. I add a pinch of salt, and decrease the almond extract to 1/2 tsp - the almond flavor is a bit overpowering. *Note that the recipe says to decrease the temperature when baking with the filling* - it's easy to overlook that instruction. Also, it helps to separate the dough before shaping it (makes exactly 24 shells). I have made these several times, and I now cut the filling ingredients in half because I end up with so much left over (tastes great warmed over vanilla ice cream though!). A very pretty way to serve them is to place them on a large white platter, and arrange blueberries and whole strawberries with the stems around them. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
I thought these were quite alot of work for the outcome. I liked the tarts, but you really have to stay on top of these. I only cooked the shells for 5 minutes (dot of brown in center), or they were compeletely burnt after the second bake. Once I got the cook time down, they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2000
These tarts were great! My whole family and my church loved them! I lined the muffin tins with tiny muffin cups to make it less messy and they turned out fine. Great recipe and a very attractive dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
My first time with pecan tarts. I should have realized when mixing the crust that the crust is more cookie-like than pie-crust-like. My crust was a little hard, probably due to over-baking. As mentioned by another reviewer, the ingredient list does not list 'pecan halves'. Fortunately, I had a bunch of pecans in the freezer and was able to select enough presentable halves. I used a twenty-four section mini-muffin pan and felt that my crust was a bit thick in places in the bottom. Had the crust been thinner, I would have had many more than twenty-four. I had at least half the filling left, so...? The taste of the crust and filling was very good. For those who try this recipe as first-timers, just be aware of the quantities/ratio of crust and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
I didn't realize that this recipe was for the mini muffin cup pan and since I had some regular sized frozen tart shells in my freezer I used them instead and just followed the rest of the recipe from the filling on. However, I made a mistake and filled them without baking the shells first and ended up having to bake the filled tarts for 25 minutes. Not that it was such a bad thing, in fact we liked them even better, they turned out really chewy like candy and the filling baked into the pastry part and gave the crust a really nice taste.(they were a little difficult to get out of the aluminum shell though because they bubbled slightly over the edge - had to use a fork - so I wouldn't make them like this for company) I will try these again, but bake the pastry part first to see the difference. It made 7 regular sized tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
Very easy to make and very delicous!! I had leftover tart shells prior to making this, so I only made the filling. End result tasted like the store bought brand!!! Maybe better! I found that if you're just going to make the filling, then to fill the tart shells almost to the top and then cover with pecans. So if you have 6 tart shells, make enough filling for 12. I also found I had to put these in the fridge afterwards so that the filling would solidify a bit more. I don't know if others found this a problem and maybe I didn't leave it in the oven long enough. But overall, takes two minutes to prepare!! Very convenient dessert :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I think that the directions could be improved, and the end result is really a 3 or 4 star recipe. Be sure to grind the pecans for the filling if you prefer the soft/even consitency like store bought tarts. I cooked the filling over medium heat, and let it boil for about 30 seconds before taking it off the burner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2001
I'm made three batches of these for Christmas this year, and they were the best. I added them to my neighbors and friends Christmas baskets and was asked for the recipe. I didn't change anything in the recipe. Will make again and not just for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I followed the recipe to a "T" when making the crusts, but the dough was FAR too dry. I added a a tablespoon more margarine, but the end result was crumbly tart crusts- they were TOO crumbly. I loved the filling! I will search the site for another suggestion for the shells though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Dooney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States