Pecan Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
I baked 12 dozen of these for a cookie exchange and they were excellent! However, watch the time carefully when baking the shells. The first 4 dozen (all in the oven at once) burnt in just 8 minutes! I was using the dark-colored non-stick bakeware which probably caused the problem. When properly baked, they are very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
These were so easy to make. I make them all the time for the kids to take to school parties. And they taste just like pecan pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lewisburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
This is a fantastic recipe which Ive tried years ago....Unfortunately the recipe was missplaced ....So THANK YOU Elaine 4 placing the recipe online on All-Recipe's web site :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniferggarrett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
I thought these were quite alot of work for the outcome. I liked the tarts, but you really have to stay on top of these. I only cooked the shells for 5 minutes (dot of brown in center), or they were compeletely burnt after the second bake. Once I got the cook time down, they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
Wonderful - big hit!! Don't forget to have some halved pecans on hand for the tops - the list of ingredients leaves this out. I add a pinch of salt, and decrease the almond extract to 1/2 tsp - the almond flavor is a bit overpowering. *Note that the recipe says to decrease the temperature when baking with the filling* - it's easy to overlook that instruction. Also, it helps to separate the dough before shaping it (makes exactly 24 shells). I have made these several times, and I now cut the filling ingredients in half because I end up with so much left over (tastes great warmed over vanilla ice cream though!). A very pretty way to serve them is to place them on a large white platter, and arrange blueberries and whole strawberries with the stems around them. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2001
Very yummy! they are excellent warm or room temp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2001
I'm made three batches of these for Christmas this year, and they were the best. I added them to my neighbors and friends Christmas baskets and was asked for the recipe. I didn't change anything in the recipe. Will make again and not just for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
Overall, this is a keeper of a recipe. However, I had to make some adjustments as I went along. First, make sure that the eggs that you use are large, or extra-large, otherwise you will have to use a little water to make the pastry the right consistency to pat into the mini muffin pan. Also, I added a pinch of salt to both the pastry dough, and the filling. It's kind of cumbersome to work with one pan as I did...if I make this recipe again, which I probably will, I will invest in another muffin tin, that way I can bake the shells all at the same temperature, and then lower the temp for the filling. Otherwise, this is a very nice recipe to fill in your holiday cookie tray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2000
These tarts were great! My whole family and my church loved them! I lined the muffin tins with tiny muffin cups to make it less messy and they turned out fine. Great recipe and a very attractive dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-39 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States