Pecan Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Is this really a recipe for a mini muffin tin? I ended up having to scoop out a hole in the cooked tart dough to make room for some filling. It made WAY too much filling, so I think it must actually call for regular-sized muffin tins. Also, some information about how long to let the filling boil would help - my filling was very runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roswell_chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
These were ok. Not exactly what I was hoping for. The "dough" tasted ok, but needs some improvements. The filling came out super sweet and hard. I like the tiny tart recipe on here a lot better for pecan tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOTDOG6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I think that the directions could be improved, and the end result is really a 3 or 4 star recipe. Be sure to grind the pecans for the filling if you prefer the soft/even consitency like store bought tarts. I cooked the filling over medium heat, and let it boil for about 30 seconds before taking it off the burner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
I consider myself a pretty good cook but I totally gave up trying to make the shells..they never made it to the oven. Frustrating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARTHAMAEMCB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
These are okay - I probably wounldn't make them again. They're time-consuming to make and not as great as I thought they might be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
The almond crust was really good, and it had lots of flavor (although I would add some salt). When I cooked the filling on the stove, I must have cooked it for too long because it immediately hardened. Next time, I also wouldn't have made the mistake of using light corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
I didn't realize that this recipe was for the mini muffin cup pan and since I had some regular sized frozen tart shells in my freezer I used them instead and just followed the rest of the recipe from the filling on. However, I made a mistake and filled them without baking the shells first and ended up having to bake the filled tarts for 25 minutes. Not that it was such a bad thing, in fact we liked them even better, they turned out really chewy like candy and the filling baked into the pastry part and gave the crust a really nice taste.(they were a little difficult to get out of the aluminum shell though because they bubbled slightly over the edge - had to use a fork - so I wouldn't make them like this for company) I will try these again, but bake the pastry part first to see the difference. It made 7 regular sized tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
Very easy to make and very delicous!! I had leftover tart shells prior to making this, so I only made the filling. End result tasted like the store bought brand!!! Maybe better! I found that if you're just going to make the filling, then to fill the tart shells almost to the top and then cover with pecans. So if you have 6 tart shells, make enough filling for 12. I also found I had to put these in the fridge afterwards so that the filling would solidify a bit more. I don't know if others found this a problem and maybe I didn't leave it in the oven long enough. But overall, takes two minutes to prepare!! Very convenient dessert :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
Great recipe! Easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States