Pecan Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Is this really a recipe for a mini muffin tin? I ended up having to scoop out a hole in the cooked tart dough to make room for some filling. It made WAY too much filling, so I think it must actually call for regular-sized muffin tins. Also, some information about how long to let the filling boil would help - my filling was very runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roswell_chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
These were ok. Not exactly what I was hoping for. The "dough" tasted ok, but needs some improvements. The filling came out super sweet and hard. I like the tiny tart recipe on here a lot better for pecan tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOTDOG6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I think that the directions could be improved, and the end result is really a 3 or 4 star recipe. Be sure to grind the pecans for the filling if you prefer the soft/even consitency like store bought tarts. I cooked the filling over medium heat, and let it boil for about 30 seconds before taking it off the burner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
I consider myself a pretty good cook but I totally gave up trying to make the shells..they never made it to the oven. Frustrating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARTHAMAEMCB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
These are okay - I probably wounldn't make them again. They're time-consuming to make and not as great as I thought they might be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
The almond crust was really good, and it had lots of flavor (although I would add some salt). When I cooked the filling on the stove, I must have cooked it for too long because it immediately hardened. Next time, I also wouldn't have made the mistake of using light corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
I didn't realize that this recipe was for the mini muffin cup pan and since I had some regular sized frozen tart shells in my freezer I used them instead and just followed the rest of the recipe from the filling on. However, I made a mistake and filled them without baking the shells first and ended up having to bake the filled tarts for 25 minutes. Not that it was such a bad thing, in fact we liked them even better, they turned out really chewy like candy and the filling baked into the pastry part and gave the crust a really nice taste.(they were a little difficult to get out of the aluminum shell though because they bubbled slightly over the edge - had to use a fork - so I wouldn't make them like this for company) I will try these again, but bake the pastry part first to see the difference. It made 7 regular sized tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
Very easy to make and very delicous!! I had leftover tart shells prior to making this, so I only made the filling. End result tasted like the store bought brand!!! Maybe better! I found that if you're just going to make the filling, then to fill the tart shells almost to the top and then cover with pecans. So if you have 6 tart shells, make enough filling for 12. I also found I had to put these in the fridge afterwards so that the filling would solidify a bit more. I don't know if others found this a problem and maybe I didn't leave it in the oven long enough. But overall, takes two minutes to prepare!! Very convenient dessert :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
Great recipe! Easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States