Pecan Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2004
These were great! I prepared the recipe exactly as indicated but used the small, mini-tin to make them bite size! Delicious! Will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
This was a great recipe - I used the frozen, pre-made tarts since I'm really not a pastry person, and they turned out wonderfully! Using the regular-sized frozen shells, this recipe made 13 tarts. I served them with a dollop of unsweetened whipped cream on top to counter the uber-sugaryness of the tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
These were awesome!! i did as another reviewer suggested and made the in mini muffin pans. i made at least 30 and they were all gone by the next day. i also used a store bought pasty crust. it worked just fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
These were pretty good. The filling was too much for 8 tarts, however. I filled mine almost to the top of the shells and they boiled over in the oven. Next time I will fill shells 3/4 full - maybe making 10 - 12 tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petrolia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Photo by ernesta
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
THESE are a little too sweet. they puffed up when i pulled them out of the oven but deflated after a minute. like any other tart recipe, i made a variety - pecans, walnuts with choco chips, raisins, and cereal. what i do is i just add a tablespoon or more of the choices in the molded crust, mix the filling then pour it over the "variety" and crust. i didn't double the recipe and made 24 regular cupcake sizes. (by the way, i don't roll the dough. i divide it by 2. take one and divide it by 4, then divide those by 3s. repeat for the other one, and ask help from my 5 year old daughter to mold the doughs :D).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Extremely easy to make, my very first attempt and they came out excellent. I also used store bought tarts shells it yielded about 18. I recommend this recipe if it's your first time. I have made these several times (over 100) I sold them by the dozen to raise money for my daughters boxing trips. I always have satisfied customers that always come back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
First skeptical about this recipe's claims, turned out being very, very pleased. A super quick, fuss-free preparation when paired with pre-made pie/tart shells that is perfect for surprise company. Added extra pecans as previously recommended...very regal results! Made it to one of my favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I made these in a mini muffin pan as suggested by another reviewer - they came out well, however I had a lot of trouble with the crusts. I used pre-made pie crusts and used a wide coffee cup to cut out circles. They fit into the tin prefectly, but when I put them in the oven to brown them slightly before putting in the pie filling the crusts shrunk a lot! Just thought I would add as a caution for the next cook that is still learning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
I made these tarts last year for christmas gift and my hairdresser love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
The old standby recipe, my only change is brown sugar to get more of a caramel taste. If you have left over syrup, pour it over a layer of graham crackers and pecans, cook with the tarts for 10 - 15 minutes ... a delightful treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States