Pecan Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Extremely easy to make, my very first attempt and they came out excellent. I also used store bought tarts shells it yielded about 18. I recommend this recipe if it's your first time. I have made these several times (over 100) I sold them by the dozen to raise money for my daughters boxing trips. I always have satisfied customers that always come back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
so easy and delicious too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
My husband and I went to a carnival and bought pecan tarts and loved them so I sought out a similar recipe and tried it. He actually loved this recipe better. It was very easy and he's happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cristilyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I was trying to find a recipe close to my deceased Aunt's, and this is it! Hers did have a homemade crust on it, but that's even better for me...less work!! :o) My brothers raved about it, just like they remembered. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEGGYMOMMA64

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ladd, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I made these for a baby shower and they were a big hit. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
These were pretty good. The filling was too much for 8 tarts, however. I filled mine almost to the top of the shells and they boiled over in the oven. Next time I will fill shells 3/4 full - maybe making 10 - 12 tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petrolia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Photo by ernesta
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
THESE are a little too sweet. they puffed up when i pulled them out of the oven but deflated after a minute. like any other tart recipe, i made a variety - pecans, walnuts with choco chips, raisins, and cereal. what i do is i just add a tablespoon or more of the choices in the molded crust, mix the filling then pour it over the "variety" and crust. i didn't double the recipe and made 24 regular cupcake sizes. (by the way, i don't roll the dough. i divide it by 2. take one and divide it by 4, then divide those by 3s. repeat for the other one, and ask help from my 5 year old daughter to mold the doughs :D).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I made these in a mini muffin pan as suggested by another reviewer - they came out well, however I had a lot of trouble with the crusts. I used pre-made pie crusts and used a wide coffee cup to cut out circles. They fit into the tin prefectly, but when I put them in the oven to brown them slightly before putting in the pie filling the crusts shrunk a lot! Just thought I would add as a caution for the next cook that is still learning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Really good! I used store purchased pie crust and used mini-muffin tins. Be careful not to overfill- they expand as they cook. You can also had a handful of chocolate chips if you wish to the batter before you put into the muffin tins. Yummy....chocolate pecan pie :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Everyone liked these tarts. I thought they were a little sweet but the nuts balance that. This recipe made 36 mini tarts using pre-made tart shells. I doubled the recipe because it said it yielded 8 and the photo shows mini-tarts, so I had enough for 36 mini tarts and a pecan pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States