Pecan Sticky Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
I'd vote this a 3.5 stars if possible.. it was okay, but it really tasted like it was lacking something. The dough tasted too yeasty and though it smelled just like a yummy sticky bun, it didn't have the same taste. It was too dry, even though I put a little extra filling inside (little more butter). I think I may try this recipe again but with less yeast, and more of the butter-sugar filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alta Loma, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2000
the dough wasn't sweet enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
YUMMMMMMMMY...Gooey and sticky, just like a pecan buns should be! Scaled ingredients to fit into my bread machine and used dough cycle. Used combo of pecans and walnuts, which is what I had on hand. I spread more than 1 T butter on dough, more like 2-3 T. Used 13x9 pan instead of 2-9" round pans and baked 25 minutes. Dough rose high and house smelled wonderful while they baked. This recipe goes into our permanent rotation to be used frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schafer5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
WOW! YUM!Stefanie, you outdid yourself, lady! These are sooooo wonderful. The dough part is absolutely perfect. These are like the sticky buns I buy for $2.75 each at a local bakery. I baked in a 9X13 at 375 degrees for exactly 23 minutes. PEERRFECT! How come so few reviews? PEOPLE! TRY THIS RECIPE! You won't be sorry. I used my bread machine... didn't even need to scale this down. I have a Zojirushi and I knew it made large loaves, but I didn't think it would handle this much dough.....but it did....with flying colors. Thanks Stefanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2000
these were a hit! the candied pecans were especially delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2000
I substituted the butter and margarine with Spray Fat Free "I Can't Believe It's Not Butter", which doesn't make as gooey as butter or margarine, but makes it a much lower fat. But, I had to heat it at a lower heat with the brown sugar. I also did not use the egg yolks. It did turn out a tad drier, but it was still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
These are great! Honestly, I like the taste of another similar recipe from this site a LITTLE bit better BUT these are MUCH easier and don't take 3 hours to make one batch. Still, the taste of these are 5-star worthy. AND THEY MAKE ALOT (if you roll/cut right = they make 24 rolls!)!! I might try halving the recipe next time. A highly recommended recipe! Went great with our french toast and smoothie breakfast...the BEST way to wake up on a Saturday morning! Didn't and wouldn't change a thing!! Thanks so much Stefanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
I totally agree with the last girl, where's the sticky? I spent my whole afternoon making them following every step to the tee and they were not sticky at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
Many enjoyed this recipe but I find it wasn't as luscious as others did. I wouldn't make it again. Half the dough in a 9" pan, to much for a pan that size. Cooked the 30 minutes and the center still wasn't done. My question is where is the gooey!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
Wow!!! These buns were soooo good. They weren't that sticky , but they were rich and moist. I will definitely make this again and keep the recipe. Thanks Stephanie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Caramel Pecan Rolls

See how to make amazing 5-star sweet rolls.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States