Pecan Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This cake had the taste and texture of an angel food cake rather than a pound cake. Also, the glaze didn't enhance the flavor at all. I was disappointed in this recipe - won't use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Verena
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Love it! At first I was a little apprehensive about putting the orange glaze on top of the cake. I was worried that the orange would somehow overpower the cake but I wanted to make it the way the recipe stated and I was pleasantly surprised! It just works and I loved it! I baked mine in a tube pan and just as other reviewers stated, it was a little difficult to get out of the pan and I'm not sure why. This is an excellent recipe. Simple to make with a down home taste. Really good, a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Good, but not excellent. I made some minor changes, I reduced the sugar to 2 cups and I'm glad I did, and added about 2 tbsp of vanilla. The texture was wonderful, but not as dense as I'd like, which is weird considering the thickness of the batter! I did split the recipe in half and made half w/ the pecans and the other half I added the zest of a lemon and about a cup of blueberries. This was delicious!! Will be keeping this one in the recipe box,,, but will continue to tweak I think, until we have it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanna1752

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Herkimer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Great recipe. I got bored last night so I looked up what ingredients I had to bake a cake and came across this! I don't have a tube pan so I just used a regular old 9x13. I followed the directions except I used regular sugar because I didn't have confectioner's sugar. It turned out a little...hard? lol. I doubled the glaze batch to cover it and cut the baking time by about 30 minutes. It was so good though. I think I'll make this again. :D My husband liked it. hehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA
Photo by ROBINBRADY
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Excellent. I add about 1/2 cup ground pecans to the flour mixture, using all-purpose flour. I also used about 1 1/4 cups of sour cream. I also used my tube pan and sprinkled the top not only with pecans but also with edible glitter for the holiday season. This filled the tube pan and made a very tall cake. I also cooked at 325 degrees for 1 hour 10 minutes and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Absolutely perfect..one of the few recipes that I dont tweak!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moyock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This is a great recipe. I have made it several times and each time it comes out just as good. I have never been able to bake and have others appreciate my baking until this recipe. I give this recipe a 10
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This is the best pound cake I have ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEDRACER3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
very easy to make. I tried it and my family LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This made A LOT of batter and spilled over the sides of my 10" bundt pan as it baked. It took 1 hour and 45 minutes to properly bake. A very moist cake and was finished off at my company potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States