Pecan Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This is a classic recipe for pound cake but this is the first time I've made it with cake flour rather than all purpose. I've decided either can be used with perfect results. Moist, dense, buttery and delicious, just as a good pound cake should be - so long as you cream the butter and sugar well, don't overmix once the flour mixture is added, and don't overbake! I skipped the pecans and threw in maybe 1-1/2 cups of blueberries. To finish, I topped the cake with a glaze of powdered sugar and lemon juice. I used a specialty Bundt cake pan and between it and the polka dots of blueberries it made for a beautiful presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
MY MY MY!!!! I am a new cooking with a live-in boyfriend and he is oh so picky. I made this cake and WOAH! it is so easy to follow and so ggod. he and all of his friends loved this cake. I did change a thing. Thanks for this great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
It was a little on the sweet side, especially if you included the topping. Next time I will probably reduced the sugar a little. I made this for a Memorial Day picinic and no mentioned it being a little on the sweet side, they all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelmichelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This pound cake turned out awesome! After reading a couple of the reviews, I doubled the glaze and pecans. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wrygurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
worked really well, I just needed this recipe for plain poundcake, so I didnt do pecans. I added almond extract and poppy seeds. a good recipe for pound cake, and really heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dsamii
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
OMG I MOST OF DID SOMETHING WRONG IT LOOKS PRETTY BUT IT DON'T TASTE GOOD AT ALL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NETTA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This is a great cake and I wouldn't change anything when making it. I personally didn't use the pecans cause I didn't have any. I will say this got better the next day but is not really a pound cake consistently...a little more like a thick cake. But very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Summerfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This by far the best pound cake ever! I sometimes have added lemon zest or lemon extract to the recipe as my husband LOVES Lemon cakes. I have also added spices to the recipe on occasion and it turned out as an awesome spiced pound cake. This cake also freezes very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Wonderful cake! All my children loved it, even my hard to please teenager. Unlinke some other commentors, I wouldn't recommend reducing the amount of sugar, though this is probably just a matter of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This was so good! I made it into a 2-layer 9-inch cake for my mom's birthday so I lowered the oven temperature a little and watched it closely. I made the glaze a little thicker to be more like frosting but it would have been fine as a glaze too. I sprinkled pecans on the bottom of just one of the pans, which went in the middle with the filling. I also mixed about 1/4 cup of pecans in with the flour mixture. This cake was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xx thinkpink xo
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States