Pecan Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This by far the best pound cake ever! I sometimes have added lemon zest or lemon extract to the recipe as my husband LOVES Lemon cakes. I have also added spices to the recipe on occasion and it turned out as an awesome spiced pound cake. This cake also freezes very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Wonderful cake! All my children loved it, even my hard to please teenager. Unlinke some other commentors, I wouldn't recommend reducing the amount of sugar, though this is probably just a matter of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This was so good! I made it into a 2-layer 9-inch cake for my mom's birthday so I lowered the oven temperature a little and watched it closely. I made the glaze a little thicker to be more like frosting but it would have been fine as a glaze too. I sprinkled pecans on the bottom of just one of the pans, which went in the middle with the filling. I also mixed about 1/4 cup of pecans in with the flour mixture. This cake was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xx thinkpink xo
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I baked it exactly as instructed with no changes, and my entire family loved it. The glaze over top with the pecans was a perfect touch. Next time I may mix some chopped pecans into the batter itself to add something more. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa V.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This cake had the taste and texture of an angel food cake rather than a pound cake. Also, the glaze didn't enhance the flavor at all. I was disappointed in this recipe - won't use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Verena
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Love it! At first I was a little apprehensive about putting the orange glaze on top of the cake. I was worried that the orange would somehow overpower the cake but I wanted to make it the way the recipe stated and I was pleasantly surprised! It just works and I loved it! I baked mine in a tube pan and just as other reviewers stated, it was a little difficult to get out of the pan and I'm not sure why. This is an excellent recipe. Simple to make with a down home taste. Really good, a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Good, but not excellent. I made some minor changes, I reduced the sugar to 2 cups and I'm glad I did, and added about 2 tbsp of vanilla. The texture was wonderful, but not as dense as I'd like, which is weird considering the thickness of the batter! I did split the recipe in half and made half w/ the pecans and the other half I added the zest of a lemon and about a cup of blueberries. This was delicious!! Will be keeping this one in the recipe box,,, but will continue to tweak I think, until we have it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanna1752

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Herkimer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Great recipe. I got bored last night so I looked up what ingredients I had to bake a cake and came across this! I don't have a tube pan so I just used a regular old 9x13. I followed the directions except I used regular sugar because I didn't have confectioner's sugar. It turned out a little...hard? lol. I doubled the glaze batch to cover it and cut the baking time by about 30 minutes. It was so good though. I think I'll make this again. :D My husband liked it. hehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA
Photo by ROBINBRADY
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Excellent. I add about 1/2 cup ground pecans to the flour mixture, using all-purpose flour. I also used about 1 1/4 cups of sour cream. I also used my tube pan and sprinkled the top not only with pecans but also with edible glitter for the holiday season. This filled the tube pan and made a very tall cake. I also cooked at 325 degrees for 1 hour 10 minutes and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Absolutely perfect..one of the few recipes that I dont tweak!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moyock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States