Pecan Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I have been making this cake for a few years, after finding the recipe in the Allrecipes cookbook. It never fails! The texture, taste, and appearance is consistently outstanding. Nothing needs tweaking as far as I am concerned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queennana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Fabulous recipe! Fabulous pound cake! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renea

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Best poundcake ive ever made!!!! However ive used 1/4 cup of fresh lemon juice, 2 cups of powdered sugar, 1 tsp pure vanilla for a glaze instead an omitted the pecans, I also, added at one time 1-1/2 cups of mashed bananas, 1 tsp of banana an vanilla extract. Omitted the 3 cups of sugar for 2 cups, the bananas make them sweet as well.My kids love it! ust perfect, moist, sweet,crunchy 2 thumbs up to the owner of this recipe, THANKS.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This is a classic recipe for pound cake but this is the first time I've made it with cake flour rather than all purpose. I've decided either can be used with perfect results. Moist, dense, buttery and delicious, just as a good pound cake should be - so long as you cream the butter and sugar well, don't overmix once the flour mixture is added, and don't overbake! I skipped the pecans and threw in maybe 1-1/2 cups of blueberries. To finish, I topped the cake with a glaze of powdered sugar and lemon juice. I used a specialty Bundt cake pan and between it and the polka dots of blueberries it made for a beautiful presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
MY MY MY!!!! I am a new cooking with a live-in boyfriend and he is oh so picky. I made this cake and WOAH! it is so easy to follow and so ggod. he and all of his friends loved this cake. I did change a thing. Thanks for this great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
It was a little on the sweet side, especially if you included the topping. Next time I will probably reduced the sugar a little. I made this for a Memorial Day picinic and no mentioned it being a little on the sweet side, they all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelmichelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This pound cake turned out awesome! After reading a couple of the reviews, I doubled the glaze and pecans. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wrygurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
worked really well, I just needed this recipe for plain poundcake, so I didnt do pecans. I added almond extract and poppy seeds. a good recipe for pound cake, and really heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dsamii
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
OMG I MOST OF DID SOMETHING WRONG IT LOOKS PRETTY BUT IT DON'T TASTE GOOD AT ALL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NETTA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This is a great cake and I wouldn't change anything when making it. I personally didn't use the pecans cause I didn't have any. I will say this got better the next day but is not really a pound cake consistently...a little more like a thick cake. But very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Summerfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States