Pecan Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by dakar
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
My husband, who is not a sweets person, had a second slice, which is saying something. I made this just as is, though I used canned vanilla frosting, nuked in the micro a bit, to make the drizzle topping, which is a hint I learned somewhere here in AllRecipes for when you don't have time to make frosting (or are out of powdered sugar). So it didn't look lovely as in the photo above as it was more of a clear glaze. Tasted marvy though. It really had an angel food-light and moist taste, and was not overly sweet. If I make this again I would definitely use real frosting, so as to hide the nutty bottom, which looked weird without frosting on top (see my picture), and put nuts on the top as in the recipe's photo. Anyway, I which I had more occasions on which to make this cake. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Great! Didn't change a thing. Will be making this again this week for some neighbors. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyviola

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANJACKSON
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
WOW, so good!! Dense and moist, just as a pound cake should be. The pecans add a nice 'crust', although next time I would add a bit more than called for in the recipe, but still wonderful as is. I did reduce the sugar to 2 1/2 cups as I have done this with other pound cakes too, 3 cups just seems a tad much. I added a tsp of almond extract along with the vanilla and used 4 eggs with 2 whites as I had a carton open. I also added some orange zest in with the glaze ingredients. My cake was perfectly cooked in 82 minutes. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Delicious cake, I would just use less sugar and room temp butter and eggs. It taste better each day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This was one of the most bland cakes I've ever eaten! It also took TWO HOURS to cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I make this cake often. With or without the the pecans, it always turns out perfect! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I baked this cake for a Christmas gift, it turned out beautiful and very moist. I can understand how it won in competition. 5 STARS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincolnton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Great cake! This is the best sour cream pound cake that I have ever tasted. I think the next time I will not make the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phenix City, Alabama, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This is the best pound cake recipe that i've ever had. I make caramel and put it on top. There is never none left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merrillville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Followed directions. This cake was moist but had very little flavour. It needs something to bring the taste up. Did not enjoy this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States