Pecan Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This cake is delicous! Whenever I make it, my family fights over it! I now have to make one at least once a month for my oldest brother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This pound cake is dry and does not have the hint of sour cream flavor or moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Loganville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sophia à la mode
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I made this for my mother-in-law's birthday and she absolutely loved it! This is definitely a "mom" kind of cake. I did follow a few tips from reviewers: I reduced the sugar amount to 2 1/2 cups, added chopped pecans to the batter, and doubled the glaze recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophia à la mode

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Made this for the first time today. I left out the pecans only because I didnt have any. I used 2 1/2 cups of sugar and made sure to cream the butter and sugar very well. This is one of the best pound cakes I have tasted and it is a recipe that I will use often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maude s.
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
First let me say DO NOT be afraid of using sugar instead of flour to dust your pan, it works great and leaves a great texture on the outside! Having said that, I usually try a recipe at least once following the instructions exactly (within reason) but I couldn't let myself do that in this case. Like many of the other reviewers I knew 3 cups of sugar would be too much. I used 1 3/4 cup of sugar, substituted plain yogurt (all I had on hand) for the sour cream, put the chopped pecans together with a small amount of brown sugar and cinnamon and layered it in the middle instead of in the bottom of my pan then topped with cinnamon sugared pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maude s.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
When baking, especially a cake of this size, it's vital to know one's oven very well. Some ovens run hot so although it may be set on the correct temp. your cake may bake far too fast on the outside & still be wet inside. Invest in an oven thermometer. That way you will know if your oven runs hot or not so you can adjust the temp. setting accordingly. Often it's not the recipe but rather the oven it's bake in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Beacham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dakar
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
My husband, who is not a sweets person, had a second slice, which is saying something. I made this just as is, though I used canned vanilla frosting, nuked in the micro a bit, to make the drizzle topping, which is a hint I learned somewhere here in AllRecipes for when you don't have time to make frosting (or are out of powdered sugar). So it didn't look lovely as in the photo above as it was more of a clear glaze. Tasted marvy though. It really had an angel food-light and moist taste, and was not overly sweet. If I make this again I would definitely use real frosting, so as to hide the nutty bottom, which looked weird without frosting on top (see my picture), and put nuts on the top as in the recipe's photo. Anyway, I which I had more occasions on which to make this cake. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Great! Didn't change a thing. Will be making this again this week for some neighbors. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyviola

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANJACKSON
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
WOW, so good!! Dense and moist, just as a pound cake should be. The pecans add a nice 'crust', although next time I would add a bit more than called for in the recipe, but still wonderful as is. I did reduce the sugar to 2 1/2 cups as I have done this with other pound cakes too, 3 cups just seems a tad much. I added a tsp of almond extract along with the vanilla and used 4 eggs with 2 whites as I had a carton open. I also added some orange zest in with the glaze ingredients. My cake was perfectly cooked in 82 minutes. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Delicious cake, I would just use less sugar and room temp butter and eggs. It taste better each day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States