Pecan Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I will not make this cake again. I follwed the recipe to a tee. After the allotted cooking time, the cake was still as raw as it was when I finished mixing it. I give this recipe no stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elba, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I have made this cake on several occassions and it is absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donae
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This cake turned out marvelous! It's super moist and was very easy to make. Just be sure to whip the butter and sour cream long enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Make this every Christmas eve for Christmas morning breakfast. It has become a tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Based on current Vancouver Island standard grocery store prices in Feb 2011, and using 10KG bags of flour and sugar for calculations, this cake cost me $9.54 in ingredients. A very nice cake. I made it without modification, and I did not find it to be too sweet, though it is not exactly something you would have a large serving size of. I will probably make this cake again in the future when I have a fridge full of eggs and a carton of sour cream about to go bad. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This is the best cake I've made yet! I kept everything the same but added the 1tsp of almond extract as others suggested and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This had a wonderful taste and came out very well. I didn't have cake flour so I substitued 3 cups all purpose minus 6 tablspoons. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEIFFER007

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VERONICA83
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
It is sooooo good. Because we dont hace sour cream in my country i used 3/4 cup buttermilk + 1/3 cup butter to make 1 cup of sour cream. You can put chopped pecans inside too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VERONICA83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maracaibo, Zulia, Venezuela
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Great recipe- followed it exactly and it came out very moist and tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
It was very successful! My friends loved it! I'm planning to make another one for the next meeting. However, I made huuge changes to this recipe: First, because I didn't have any sour cream I replaced it with plain yogurt. It wasn't as dense as it should've been but very MOIST! I liked it! Second, I don't like my pastry too sweet so I put little less than 2 cups of sugar rather than 3. It was sweet enough, though, especially if your going to pour icing on top. Third, I didn't spread icing on top of my cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States