Pecan Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
This was absolutely AMAZING!!!!! Thank you so much for the recipe. It's not too sweet but then I have a huge sweet tooth. I loved it and so did my husband and a few friends. Making tonight for a potluck tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Made this to serve at a meeting today and came home with only one piece left if that tells you anything. :) I thought I had pecans but discovered I only had almonds and walnuts, so used them instead and it was fine. End result was a beautiful looking cake - I didn't use the glaze, but opted instead for a basic glaze recipe that uses cream, confectioner's sugar and melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This cake was one of the best pound cakes I've ever made.The first time I used pecans and the second time I used Walnuts.I liked the Walnuts better.I didn't have a problem with sugar.Sometimes If you use Domino's sugar, Your cakes taste a little sweeter.To me, it's a sweeter sugar.I only use it for pies.But this was a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Riverdale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This is a wonderful cake. Anything that's baked with cake flour tastes better to me anyway. I agree with the other reviewers. It's perfect as is. "NO" I repeat "NO" modifications necessary. I baked this cake on Good Friday I think. Yes I remember because we were going away for the Easter holidays and my dad was going to watch the house for us and there was a piece left in my fridge. I still have piece in my fridge as we speak and taste it last night and it was still wonderful. You have got this try this one people. This is the one you don't want to get away. MMMM....DELICIOUS ! ! ! "5" star and nothing less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mommy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Belize City, Belize District, Belize
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I made this cake for Thanksgiving and everyone seemed to like it. I wouldn't make it again though. I prefer a lighter texture and this was very dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This pound cake is really good. I ommited the pecan because im not a fan of it. I must admit that straight out of the oven, this cake taste really bland, but the following day it is just scrumptous. I don't like the crunchy crust either, so I only ate the cake itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This was a HOMERUN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This recipe is delicious. To the person who wrote that it was too sweet with the 3 to 2 cups, please re-read the recipe. It is 3 to 3 cups flour and sugar. Moist, and it falls out of the bunt pan if you use a vegetable spray prior to pouring the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I think my husband is in love all over again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
very good and easy to make. i added a teaspoon of almond extract to the batter and it tasted great. also, i cut sugar down to 2 1/2 cups, as suggested in other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States