Pecan Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I've made a similar pound cake for years, but I want to try the pecan topping. One caveat: this really is too much sugar. I would use 1 1/2 or 2 cups of sugar, at most. Now I'm looking for a recipe that will incorporate chopped pecans into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MB McDavid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This cake is so good! I am making it as our birthday cake for Jesus this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by damephelisha
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Very dry, tasted and felt like cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by damephelisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This recipe is fabulous! I baked it in a cast iron skillet, topped mine with a caramel buttermilk glaze. It was PERFECTION!!!! Thank you for submitting!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Excellent cake!! If you want to talk about slapping your mom over any food, get ready to slap your mom for THIS cake!! I added 1 1/2 tsps of almond extract, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I though this recipe was great and was easy to modify. I layered the cake with ribbons of almond cocoa spread and used crushed almonds instead of pecans. The cake was moist and a wonderful consistency it turned out great with cake flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I just finished baking it. And it has a milky flavor which is good but it is too sweet. Probably it would be better if sugar was half the quantity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Wow - what an amazing pound cake this recipe made. So delicious and buttery and melt in your mouthy! It had this wonderful little crispy crust on the outside too. Only thing I did different was to make the glaze with lemon juice and not orange juice. Otherwise I followed it to a T and it came out INCREDIBLE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I added a caramel glazed to it. My family LOVED this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I had to alter a bit as we are a diabetic household. I used 2 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour, 1 cup of plain yogurt instead of sour cream, 1 1/2 cups of Splenda white & 1 cup of Splenda brown for my sugar. I used (4 ) 1/4 cups of egg beaters & (2) 3 TBS egg whites. I ground enough pecans for 1/4 cup and mixed 1 TBS Splenda brown sugar with a hint of cinnamon and set aside. Per one hint I sprayed my tube pan with olive oil & dusted with Splenda white sugar. I mixed all per the recipe and poured 1/2 the batter into tube pan. I sprinkled layer of pecan/sugar/cinnamon mix over batter. Pour remaining batter over this mix. Bake for 70 minutes at 325. I did not add a glaze. It was awesome!!! will definitely make again. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Churubusco, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States