Pecan Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Everyone loved it, only after i'd reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cup. Texture and taste is good. BUT I HAVE THIS TO ADD: I'm surprised that nobody thought the cake was too sweet. The first time i made this cake, it was awfully sweet that we all got a bit sick from eating it. 3 cups of sugar for 2 cups of cake flour and 1 cup of ground pecans do not sound like a right equation at all! Doesn't anyone else feel like this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Everyone loves this cake when I make it. If your looking for that pound cake with the crunchy crust, look no further. This cake is really heavy, but moist. For you nut lovers, try adding pecans to the batter also. Very good! I would try less sugar next time. Maybe 2 1/2 cups instead of 3. It's a little sweet for my taste. I also increased the vanilla to 1/2 tbsp for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
DEVINE!!!! Just what I was looking for. Only made 2 changes, didn't use the pecans (my husband is allergic, but can't wait to try making it with the pecans for my dad and myself)and added one ingredient to the recipe-added 1 tsp. of almond extract (along with the 1 tsp. of vanilla extract) My favorite pound cake is the Tastefully Simple Absolutely Almond Pound Cake and this is pretty close. My kids prefer this over chocolate chip cookies! LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This is a classic recipe for pound cake but this is the first time I've made it with cake flour rather than all purpose. I've decided either can be used with perfect results. Moist, dense, buttery and delicious, just as a good pound cake should be - so long as you cream the butter and sugar well, don't overmix once the flour mixture is added, and don't overbake! I skipped the pecans and threw in maybe 1-1/2 cups of blueberries. To finish, I topped the cake with a glaze of powdered sugar and lemon juice. I used a specialty Bundt cake pan and between it and the polka dots of blueberries it made for a beautiful presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
This is the perfect pound cake. My benchmark for pound cake is "Sara Lee"...this one is even better. Perfect texture, crumb and flavor! I usually do this without the pecans and bake in loaf pans. Half of the recipe makes one large loaf pan or three small. I also vary the flavoring depending on how I'll be serving this. Some of my favorites include, coconut, rum and almond flavorings instead of the vanilla. Try this...cut a slice of pound cake, place on a sheet of foil. Butter cake slice and top with a slice of pinapple, place a marachino cherry in the center of the pineapple, sprinkle with about a tsp. of brown sugar. Wrap in the foil; place on the grill and grill until nice and hot; about 10 min. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
This was made for a friend's husband that only likes Sour Cream Pound Cakes from Publix's.... I omitted the nuts as I am allergic to them and can't cook with them, but everything else was the same. Her husband now only wants me to bake his pound cakes! This was a very moist cake. Will make again! I used a bundt pan to bake it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARILYNJ100

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Gray, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2006
My first ever pound cake attempt was a HUGE success with this recipe. My boyfriend advise a cake this good deserved a marriage proposal. Moist several days later with a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimber
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This cake is amazing!!! Next time I will add a little bit of orange juice and rind to the cake batter and double the glaze recipe - but believe me, it's great either way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nitro, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I cannot say enough about how great this cake was. I made it for a birthday and now everyone wants one of their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristina S
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
My friends and family love this cake. I made it for special events and its a huge hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States