Pecan Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
The cake baked out ok but it is very bland. It has a good texture, but I have baked much better flavored pound cakes. This cake would be better if served as strawberry shortcake or in an English trifle. I did cut down on the sugar to two cups. I believe it would have been way too sweet with 3 cups and that would not have made it any less bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Turned out incredibly well despite the fact that I ran out of eggs so just added the equivalent in sour cream (I only had 5 eggs, which I didn't realize until it came time to put them in). I also baked this at 350, not 300--no way it'd have worked in my oven on that temp. It still took a good 115 minutes to bake. Hubs stated he thought it could be sweeter, but I completely disagree and thought it was too sweet. However, he didn't think it needed the glaze. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Delicious and pretty. batter wast thick. I cut sugar by 1/2 cup. I also added 1 teas of almond flavoring. I will make this often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This is a delicious, dense cake. (I used cake flour, and it was still very dense.) The citrus icing was good, but the cake-to-icing ratio lacked icing. This cake screams for berries, cream, or a whole lot more icing. I used walnuts in lieu of pecans (since that's what I had on hand). This dense cake would hold up well on the grill, or in a triffle. It's a good clean / basic pound cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Loved it. I made it with all-purpose flour, baked in 2 8x8 glss pans and baked for only 45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Delicous! I added some lemon peel to the cake batter....I found the glaze made the cake a bit soggy on the bottom day one but was better day two. Will definitely make this again, super easy and good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexMex Queen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This turned out deliciously. I did have to bake it quite a bit longer than stated (in a tube pan) -- around 110 minutes, so 1 hour 50 minutes. The last 15 minutes I baked at 350 because I was just so tired of checking it in 15 minute intervals. I would bake this at 325 next time rather than 300. It turned out of the pan (using Baker's Joy spray) beautifully and tasted great. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
yummmmmie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie
Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Great flavor. Wonderful texture. Fabulous glaze. I have made this cake at least 6 times. My only complaint is that this makes too much batter for a typical bunds pan. Yikes, talk about mt. Vesuvius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I have kept this recipe around for nearly 10 years. No matter how many times I make it, I never tire of the rich, moist flavor. Everyone I share it with has seconded that emotion. This cake is a true winner!!! Do note that the batter may be more than enough to fit into one bundt pan. I use an oversized bundt pan when I follow this recipe. Yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vema

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States