Pecan Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
This is delicious! Made it for my hubby's birthday cake, and he loved it. I added 2 tablesppons sugar to the pecan mix; other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I generally don't have good luck with pound cakes, but I followed the instructions to the letter, and it was perfect--it has a wonderful crunchy crust and that good pound cake flavor. Definitely a repeat recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I made this cake today and I loved it. It came out very light and moist. I used 2 cups of Splenda instead of sugar and 1/2 cup of the Splenda Brown Sugar Blend. I also used 1 1/2 cups of sour cream. I mixed a half cup of walnuts with 2 teaspoons of cinnamon and 3 tablespoons of Brown sugar and put it into the center of the mixture. It really came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
I love this cake! I've baked it several times and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camden, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
It turned out perfectly...yet I just didn't care fot it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Double-Oven Lovin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I followed the recipe and the cake, in my opinion, was much too sweet. I should have gone with my gut and cut the sugar initially (3 cups of sugar for 3 cups of flour sounded like way too much! And it was.)I served it when it was warm, after cooling for 1 hr, and found it to be a very bland, heavy and greasy cake. I chose not to make the glaze as it was already so sweet, it didn't need the added sugar. I used a buttered and floured bundt pan, and didn't have any trouble turning the cake out. The only way I could salvage this cake was by cutting it into 1 inch wide, 3/4 inch thick, slices and baking them at 275 until dry and slightly crispy to make biscotti. I then dipped one side in some melted dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
I'll give this cake a 3 because it was moist and it rise quite well.It was very bland and i add a tsp of lemon and a tsp of almond extract and it was just so bland i have tryed many cake recipes and this one is not a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Key Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
When I made this I left out the nuts because it was for a large dinner and some people don't like nuts - it still turned out wonderful. It has a great texture and taste. The glaze was a little runny so next time I might try adapting that but this is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Spindale, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Much too sweet for my taste (and my family's taste and my friends' taste). Otherwise, nice and moist. Replacing 1 cup of flour with 1 cup of grated pecans really improved the favour and texture. I also should have dusted the baking pan with flour, because I had difficulties getting the cake out and some of the crust stuck to the pan. I did not use the glaze. The cake actually got better on the second and third day. I made it again for Easter and reduced the sugar to 2 cups - the cake turned out great, it was fluffier and less dense, and also much tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lublin, Lublin, Poland
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
i love this, made it twice, tried it once with almond extract and that was excellent!a family favorite at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I cannot say enough about how great this cake was. I made it for a birthday and now everyone wants one of their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States