Pecan Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This is the best pound cake I've ever made. I baked three of these last week for family and friends. It always gets rave reviews and requests for me to bake another one. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I'll bake this one again. I baked this for Thanksgiving and it turned out pretty good. I read the reviews and used only 2 cups of sugar as others had suggested, and found it to be plenty sweet. I opted not to do the glaze because I had baked other cakes with icing and wanted to give my family and guests different options with the cakes. This cake is on the dense side, but good nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NIKITA2
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This was my very first cake from scratch and I absoulutely love it! My aunt made this cake last Christmas from the AllRecipes cookbook and I just had to try it this year. It is so simple once you get past the fear of baking. I love the sweetness and wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This is a great old fashin recipe. I left off the pecans due to alergy. Can use lemon flavor also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This is a great cake. The pecans are really great in the cake. The only thing I didn't love was the glaze. I'm not sure orange is a flavor that goes really well with the cake. Next time I'll just use milk in the glaze. But it was still really good. I made these in Nordic ware mini bundt pans, and they were so cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by bread-n-butter
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I made this pound cake and it was wonderful. I used half cake flour and half all-purpose flour. It was wonderful. I had my coworkers wanting to slap my momma!...lol...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bread-n-butter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mound City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
My family and I love this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
If you are looking for the perfect pound cake look no furthere. This is the best pound cake ever. It isn't as dense as the ones you get in the store but I like my pound cakes a little lighter. I don't ever use the glaze b/c this cake stands alone just fine. I make it all the time and always get requests for the recipe. This is a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I recommend using organic sugar which has a milder sweetness without the harshness of bleached white sugar. I juice organic lemons/oranges for the glaze, organic fruit just has more flavor and if you haven't tried any you are missing out. Same for the pecans. Try fresh, organic. If you are going to take the time to prepare a recipe that is labor-intensive, fresh flour and the best ingredients make a difference. This is a delicious, moist and firm cake recipe that my mother-in-law would have had in her composition notebook. She taught me to cook and she would have loved this recipe. It's old-fashioned goodness. Bless you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bayport, New York, USA
Living In: Larimore, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Great recipe. I separate the eggs and whip the egg whites until stiff and fold them in at the VERY end. This is not too sweet to my family, this recipe is a very typical pound cake recipe. Wonderful. The glaze is not necessary but good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States