Pecan Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tara McGee Perry
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Just finished this cake! It looks wonderful! I used 2 cups of organic pure cane sugar instead of 3, added 2 Tbl. of vanilla extract. I also whipped the butter and eggs TO DEATH to ensure an excellent texture. The cake is for Easter but I think I'll have to try a slice before??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara McGee Perry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
This is a GREAT recipe. I was supposed to name the pound cake at Christmas and forgot my recipe. I used this one instead and I and my family like it better. I did not use the nuts. I added two sticks of butter. Other than that it is a firm most cake with a nice crust. I didn't need a glaze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Teshiko Missumom Payton
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
WAS LOOKING FOR A NEW POUND CAKE....THIS IS DEFINITELY IT!!!! ITS AMAZING! ! FOLLOWED THE RECEIPE TO THE LETTER AND IT CAME OUT AWESOMELY DELICIOUS..... will be making this time and time again sorry had to cut it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I've made a similar pound cake for years, but I want to try the pecan topping. One caveat: this really is too much sugar. I would use 1 1/2 or 2 cups of sugar, at most. Now I'm looking for a recipe that will incorporate chopped pecans into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MB McDavid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This cake is so good! I am making it as our birthday cake for Jesus this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by damephelisha
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Very dry, tasted and felt like cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by damephelisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This recipe is fabulous! I baked it in a cast iron skillet, topped mine with a caramel buttermilk glaze. It was PERFECTION!!!! Thank you for submitting!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Excellent cake!! If you want to talk about slapping your mom over any food, get ready to slap your mom for THIS cake!! I added 1 1/2 tsps of almond extract, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I though this recipe was great and was easy to modify. I layered the cake with ribbons of almond cocoa spread and used crushed almonds instead of pecans. The cake was moist and a wonderful consistency it turned out great with cake flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I just finished baking it. And it has a milky flavor which is good but it is too sweet. Probably it would be better if sugar was half the quantity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States