Pecan Sandies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This was an AWESOME cookie recipe! I halved the recipe because it makes so many cookies. I didn't have cream of tartar, so I omitted BOTH the cream of tartar and baking soda and substituted them for baking powder as the leavening agent. (1 teaspoon). I did as others suggested and did butter in place of margarine and did 1/2 cup white and 1/2 cup brown sugar. I also added 1/4 cup of mini chocolate chips when the pecans were added. Light. Airy. Delicate. Not an extremely sweet cookie. Slid right off my Pampered Chef bar pan with no parchment paper or baking spray needed. Dough was super easy to handle and shape into balls. One of the BEST cookies I've ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
i made these cookies twice...i did half white sugar half light brown and didnt roll them in sugar..they were delicious..i was asked already to make them for my friend for her easter dinner..thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I followed some of the reviewer suggestions: butter, 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar, double the vanilla. I also toasted the pecans and finely chopped them in the food processor. The dough was very soft, so I refrigerated it for an hour, then used a small scoop to form the balls. Baked them using silicone baking mats in my pans, and these cookies came out perfectly!! Wonderful sandy texture, perfect level of sweetness, and excellent for a quick dunk in some coffee. Thanks for posting a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I adjusted the recipe to be gluten-free and they were amazing! Here are the changes I made (thanks to other reviews also): 1. butter instead of margarine 2. coconut oil instead of vegetable oil 3. 1/2 c white sugar and 1/2 c dark brown sugar instead of all white 4. 2 teaspoons of vanilla instead of one 5. Instead of 4 cups all-purpose flour I used: 2 c brown rice flour 1/2 c coconut flour 1/2 c spelt flour 1/2 c tapioca flour 1/4 c almond flour 1/4 c white rice flour 1 tsp baking powder I really mixed the sugars and butter mix until very creamy and almost stiff. Because other reviewers refrigerated, I did so for about 30 minutes. I rolled into small balls and baked for 8 minutes. Then I removed and squished with the back of a spoon and returned to oven for 2 more minutes. I let cool on baking sheet. These cookies had great texture and flavor and melted in your mouth. I got huge praises and everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StickySue
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
The taste was just okay, not much flavor and my sandies cam out more like cake. I followed the directions. they were crunchy on the bottom, and cake like on the top. I felt like these was more like wedding cookies than sandies. I didn't tweak the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
My huband girls love these at the store I found this recipe and the only thing I did different is roll the cookie dough in raw sugar (Sugar IN the Raw). They were thrilled with ccokie both ways (regular sugar and raw sugar). They said this recipe was a keeper! It does make many cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I made during Christmas and took them to work. Now I get request for them all of the time. I'm making a batch today as a requested birthday gift for a friend, they're that good! I do substitute the margarine for unsalted butter but that's my only change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gixxer3248

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I stuck to the recipe except for using butter instead of margarine and adding 1/2tsp almond extract. They were so good. i took some to the bar with me (it was dart night) and the bartender said they were the best cookies she'd ever had, and begged me to make her a batch to take to her parents' house for Christmas. Another person there has already given me the stuff to make her husband a batch for his birthday. My first homemade cookies and these were the responses! Thank you so much for posting this! Oh yeah, DO use parchment paper. I was able to bake all three batches on one piece. So awesome. Also, i discovered, by accident, that putting a biscuit in plastic container with the cookies makes them soft. I had baked some buttermilk biscuits and had a couple left over. I had room in with the cookies, which were several days old by then. Next evening, the cookies were soft. I magine a piece of sandwich bread would work as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexander Reyne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I am giving this recipe only 4 stars because it calls for margarine which make for a cookie that is too bready. The second time I made them I substituted butter for the margarine and got a wonderful cookie! They were crisp and buttery and that is the only way to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I just finished making them and they turned out amazing! I added freshly grated cinnamon sticks with the sugar you roll them in and then a little more before I baked them. They taste so good. Definitely going to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States