Pecan Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Just like everyone else has said. Really good and really easy. I actually hate cooking rice on the stove and so used my rice cooker, so much easier. I used white rice because I didn't have brown on hand and used dried parsley instead of fresh (2 tsp dry instead of 2 tbs of fresh) and we really liked it. Once there was about 5 minutes left on my rice cooker I put the butter in the skillet to melt and the timing was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This dish has a wonderful flavor and texture. My husband even went back for more and he isn't usually a big rice fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
So delicious!! Great way to change boring rice into something amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I increased the onions and pecans a little to bump up the flavor, and substituted butter for the margarine. Next time I might try adding a little celery. Had it with butternut squash and broccoli rabe for a great vegetarian meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This is a great way to give boring old brown rice a special flare. We omit the parsley and it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Fantastic. Perfect for fall dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Our family of picky adult eaters enjoyed this recipe. I did use canned chicken broth instead of water, but 2 1/2 cups was a bit too much and made the rice a bit mushy. I was worried about the ginger, but it was perfect with just a hint of ginger flavor. I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This is by FAR the best rice I've ever eaten! It disappeared so fast and was so easy to make. I will definitely make this one often!!! I used a few fresh basil leaves instead of dried, which was great, but not necessary. This is a great way to use up leftover rice. Just put the leftover rice in a pan with just a touch of water. Cover and let steam to warm up. Then add the pecan mixture and serve. I'm pretty sure you could make this sauce ahead of time, freeze, and then add to rice later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I make this rice roughly once a week, that's how much we love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I loved, loved, loved the extra flavor in this recipe. I used brown rice and cooked as directed, although as others suggested I cooked in chicken broth. I prepared the rice and chopped up all my ingredients in advance. At dinner time all I had to do was mix everything together. Super easy and by far one of the tastiest side dishes I've tried from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States