Pecan Pumpkin Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Im usually dont go for anything with pumpkin in it. My sister wanted me to bring a pumpkin pie for thanksging tho'---I was amazed that I actually liked it. This pie is a perfect blend-and the orange zest in the topping is such a delightful addition to the flavor. YUMMY GOOD. Top rated. (By the way-I used two 9-inch pie crusts...there was that much batter)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
I tried this recipe quite some time ago, but neglected to rate it. I've made it many, many times since then and it always go over unbelievably well. With the holidays coming up again, I've already had several requests for this yummy pie. It is EXCELLENT and is my husband's new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I made this pie for a Christmas pot luck and it is delicious. My husband's whose favorite pie is Pecan loved it. The flavor was a wonderful with the blend of the orange zest and pumpkin also the kitchen smelled great during prep and cooking. I would definately make this recipe again and be proud to take it to a gathering or make for family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Manteo, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This pie was everyone's favorite!! The only thing I will do different next time is to chop the pecans, there really isn't enough time to arrange them prettily & they look kinda like little roaches climbing around!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
this is out of sight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I love good food, and this was good! Depending on what crust you use, I was actually able to make (2) pies with these ingredients, but I doubled the pecan topping ingred. to accomodate both pies. Use pecan pieces rather than whole. yum, yum, yum! Will definitly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This was fantastic! I could not stay away from it. The addition of the orange zest is not to be omitted. It was a delightful addition. I loved the flavor of the pumpkin mixture as well. I will say that I needed a bigger pie pan for this than the 9" store bought crust I went with. This pie deserves a deep dish, homemade crust. It is a great treat for the holidays. We will definitely make this again...even if it is just for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I made this pie using my usual crust recipe for a pre-Thanksgiving party, and it was a smashing success! I was worried it would be too sweet, but the pumpkin tempered it all nicely, and it didn't even need the fresh whipped cream I served alongside it. I didn't add the orange zest to the crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenaJoli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I have made this recipe for the past three years and my guests always love it. This year I made a light pumpkin pie which was good but we missed the pecan/orange topping from this pie that makes it so yummy and special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
AMAZING! This was my first time making any kind of pie and it blew me away. So easy to make! I only made one change: I put the pecan topping mix in a food processor for a few seconds to chop everything down for an even, crunchy topping for the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States