Pecan Pumpkin Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Oh my gosh...this is delicious! My son made it so easy dish. Used 1/2 the amount of sugar. Make sure to cool it a long time before turning it out. We didn't even have time to frost cake and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is an awesome dessert!! I will make this again. I did add a few things to make it closer to my recipe for pumpkin pie. I added 1 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniferschladweiler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This is a very tasty dessert, but very rich! I am rating it 4 stars because I added one teaspoon cinnamon and one half teaspoon of nutmeg to give it that pumpkin pie taste, as other reviewers did. To cut back on some of the fat, I used low fat evaporated milk and low fat cream cheese. I found another highly rated recipe on this site for cream cheese frosting since I realized while making the cream cheese frosting that there would not be enough for the whole dessert to be topped. I also needed to bake the dessert much longer than the recipe states. Everyone's favorite part of the dessert was the topping, it is so wonderfully crunchy. I am thinking of using it on top of my favorite pumpkin bread recipe! Next time, I would skip frosting the dessert, since it is sweet enough without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosalyn Reich

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
An absolute winner. I added spices to the pumpkin (1 1/2 tbsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ginger, 1/4 tsp cloves) and made fresh whip cream using 1 1/2 c. heavy cream. The whipped cream / cream cheese portion was about 3/4 as thick as the pumpkin portion and I thought that was perfect. Finished it off with sprinkling nutmeg on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Really, really good. HOWEVER I did add a tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 of ginger and 1/4 cloves. Also, only used an 8 oz container of cool whip. And I only had wlanuts on hand so used them instead of pecans. Made it for a church luncheon and it went over very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I am not a pumpkin eater, but I really like this one. YUMO!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Evansville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This is delicious. I made this twice and loved it both times. However, I made the following changes the 2nd time with better results: Used only 1 1/2 cans of pumpkin (could probably just do one can), added pumpkin spice, cinnamon, nutmeg (1 tbsp +) - definitely needs the spices added. For the topping, I used 12 oz - 1 1/2 blocks - of cream cheese (for more of the cream cheese taste), and made my own whipped topping with 1 cup of heavy cream and few tbsp of powdered sugar and vanilla (personal preference - don't care for taste of Cool Whip). Although I noticed some people said it needed to be cooked longer, the cook time was perfect for my oven. Also, both times I made this, I made the crust / pumpkin the night before. I cooked and then let it cool before covering and putting in refrigerator over night. This way, I did not have a problem inverting and pulling the wax paper the next day. Very good! The crust is unbelievable!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Seriously delicious! Added 1 Tablespoon of Pumpkin Pie Spice like another reviewer suggested and topped with whipped cream. The combination of the creamy topping, smooth pumpkin center, crunchy cake and caramelized pecans is AMAZING! Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I tried this receipe two different ways. I fixed it the first time according to directions, it was good but my family felt it did needed a little something more. The second time I fixed it, I took some advice from a review and added about 1/8 tea. nutmeg, 1/4 tea of pumpkin pie spice and 1/4 -1/2 tea. of cinnamon. Also, added about 1/4 cup more butter to cover all the dry cake mix because the first one, there were some dry pieces in the crust. And added about 1/2 cup more of pecans, because we love them and I did sprinkle just a few on top when finished. Everyone loved the second one. It was a HUGE hit at our Thanksgiving dinner. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SGR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Was a HIT at thanksgiving!!!! Everyone was wanting the recipe!!! YUMMY, also likes the different textures in the layers!!Def. will be making many more times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States