Pecan Praline Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
I finally manage to scoop this recipe from my aunt to compare with this recipe since a few of the reviews scared me. The recipes are identical except an explicit statement that says: DO NOT BOIL the mix but simply heat and stir until brown sugar is completely dissolved and to let it cool for about 10 minutes before pouring slowly over the graham crackers. This is a little time consuming but definately worth it in the end! Mine turned out just as anuty has always made them :) Update: Apologies, I didnt look at the pan size, my cookie sheet is roughly 12x16 and fits 35 crackers perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I have made these several times and have actually had people kiss my feet when I served them. For people who have had problems, this is what I do and they always turn out great. Make sure the cookies lay flat in the pan - don't stack them. I use 12 full graham crackers, broken in half (24 halves) and they fit the pan perfectly. Bring the ingredients to a light boil, stirring contantly. As soon as the butter and brown sugar form a homogenous syrup, take them off the heat, add pecans (I also add some vanilla here), pour over graham crackers. It should JUST cover the graham crackers, you may need to spread it with a spoon. Immediately put in oven and bake on NONSTICK pan. Let them cool until they come off in one piece, but no longer. Put on foil to cool COMPLETELY and harden before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
What in the WORLD did I do? LOL! I bake many cookies, and I've never had a recipe flop so miserably. I followed the recipe exactly, but first of all, it doesn't say how long to boil the ingredients. So as soon as mine came to a rolling boil, I added the pecans and poured it over the crackers. #2 Graham crackers do not sink. lol! Basically all the liquid ended up underneath the crackers. #3 The crackers turned to mush, and although the liquid thickened, it did not harden, so there was no way to eat these as "cookies". There was no substance, just a layer of soggy cracker surrounded my a rich liquid. If any of you have suggestions, I'd love to hear them. I can't imagine what went wrong, but unless I hear a great suggestion, I won't be trying this recipe again. Too bad...the ingredients sound heavenly! Ally
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This recipe is awesome and so easy. The key is to not boil the butter and sugar too long. As soon as it starts to boil, mix in your pecans and pour on top of graham crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
This is definitely a five star recipe, first for its ease, second for its taste, and third for its versatality. I've made this several times and without any additional ingredients, its excellent, but I also enjoy how you can tailor make this one to please a special someone by adding their favorite candy crushed topping a minute or two after it has come out of the oven. I've added miniature candy coated Kisses, M&M's, and Reeses Pieces, but our all time favorite addition was 3/4 cup Heath Milk Chocolate Toffee Bits found on the baking aisle. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I love this recipe and have made it several times. Today something happened. I always use generic graham crackers (they are usually cheaper) but Honeymaid were on sale yesterday so I got those instead. This recipe totally flopped with the Honeymaid. What the heck?? The cracker soaked up the butter and the sugar was left to crystalize on top. Taste okay but not as good as normal. Just thought Id let you all know. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I followed the recipe to the letter and something went wrong some where. I had a hard time getting them off the baking sheet, it seemed more like a candy then a cookie bar. It sounded so... good but some where it went so... wrong for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
You will not believe how good these are being so super easy to make!!!! Excellent! I even used low fat grahams (what I had on hand) Wonderful!! I lined my cookie sheet with foil and used Pam for easy removal and clean up. Will make again soon!Thanks Debbie~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
This recipe was very close to one I have in which I use almonds. I decided to use this recipe, and much to my delight I found these to not only be quick and easy but were utterly fantastic!! I did add one thing; I melted white chocolate and dark chocolate (go for the good stuff, it really makes a difference) and drizzled both on these cookies to make them look special for my holiday cookie tray. These went fast; several people asked me for the recipe. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
My husband and I made these for a big party we were having (our wedding) as favors. Everybody raved about them and requested more. Now we know what to make for Christmas presents! These were so easy to make and took no time at all. We let the mixture just come to a boil, then poured all over our Walmart brand graham crackers. We lined the cookie sheet with tin foil. When they were done baking we removed the pan to a drying rack, and then after about 5 or 10 minutes pulled the entire cookie out of the cookie sheet (this is where the tin foil came in handy). We let this sit on the drying rack until cooled completely. Using a long straight knife, we cut in smaller pieces. We highly recommend this, thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States