Pecan Praline Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I have used a similar recipe for years (mine does not call for cream of tartar, but uses butter AND margarine with the light brown sugar). I boil my butter/sugar mixture for about 2 minutes (stirring constantly) until it looks bubbly. I do not put the pecans in the mixture because they get lost in the liquid and are not evenly spread over the crackers (some crackers will have a lot and others will have none). I sprinkle them on the crackers and then carefully ladle the sugar mixture over the crackers. The mixture will seep under the crackers, but if the crackers are floating in it, you have way too much. I just try to make sure the pecans and the tops of the crackers are coated with the butter/sugar mixture and I often have some of the mixture left over that I use on my next pan of pecan cookies. Then I bake them approx. 10 mins until the crackers look bubbly in the pan. It will harden as it cools, but I use a pizza cutter to roll between each cracker while they are still warm. Otherwise, it is difficult to cut them apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
took to work and everyone loved them, gave out several recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine Hobbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kinston, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Wow! So easy, so decadent! I pulled the mixture off the heat as soon as I saw it start to bubble and it worked out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I agree, that these taste wonderful. beautiful toffee flavor. However, it does not say how long to boil. I always boil candy very slowly so the sugar can disolve properly. I let it come to a gentle rolling boil and against my better judgement, took it off the stove and poured, then baked. It seems as though it is too sticky, or gooey. Is this how it is supposed to be? almost a bit too soft. I've made the popularity cookies and they turned out perfect like toffee.(same premise but w/saltines). also, I'm trying to figure out how u would get 35 grahams in a pan that size. I would suggest cutting the grahams in half. a whole graham per serving *as shown in pics) would be too rich, IMO. great flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
OMG! These are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WonderWoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Great, great cookies with a fantastic flavor and crunchiness. And, so easy to make! I tried baking the cookies last week. Following the recipe exactly as was provided, I found the cookies too sweet and too greasy. But when I brought a batch to work, my colleagues (mostly women !!) loved them. Still, I wanted cookies that are less sweet and greasy. So I baked the cookies again a few days later, using 3/4 cup of butter and 3/4 cup of brown sugar. I also chopped the pecans into tiny pieces and adjust baking time to 9 minutes. The result was exactly as I wanted: there was enough liquid mixture to cover all the graham crackers, good distribution of pecans, sweet enough cookies, less greasy and super crunchy. My colleagues all agreed the second batch was better and actually just amazing! Thank you for a great recipe. It will be a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I'm rating this based on looks alone. I just took my stuff out of the oven and they look PERFECT. My mom has made these before, so I know what they taste like. I followed this recipe - not sure what her recipe is like. I didn't mix in pecans - simply because they're really not my favorite. Instead, I sprinkled the top (before baking) with sliced almonds. They look beautiful. I also lined my cookie sheet with parchment paper. Both cleanup and cutting should be a cinch. I was worried that I would have sogginess or pooling butter or other problems that people had. I melted my butter and brown sugar on medium heat until the butter had melted (I kept stirring it during this time). Then I turned it on high until it came to a boil. I could tell the syrup was ready because it coated my spatula. I think that's the best way to test it. When it coats your silicone spoon/spatula. Before I boiled it, the butter wouldn't even let it stick to my spatula. So I could tell once the butter and sugar came together by the sticking. Anyway. It worked for me! I'm very excited to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Yum! I even screwed up a bit and forgot to chop my pecans. I scrapped them off, chopped em and spread them over the crackers again. This is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Wowzers! This recipe is highly addictive and SO GOOD!!! I used real butter...you can't beat the flavor of the real stuff. I quartered the recipe so I wouldn't make so many I would make myself sick! I cooked the butter, brown sugar and cream of tarter to a full boil. I then removed from heat and added my pecans. I let it cool for about 5 minutes or so until it thickened up a bit then carefully spread over my graham crackers that I had lined in a parchment paper covered pan. I allowed to cool a few minutes in the pan when I removed the cookies from the oven then I transferred them to a wire rack. TIP: Break apart your crackers before lining pan. That way you can gently pull them apart after you remove them from pan to put onto cooling rack. I used regular keebler graham crackers i this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceywatts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
These were a big hit and so easy! I followed the advice of other reviewers and took it off the heat before it started boiling (as soon as the brown sugar was dissolved). Then I let it sit for about 10 minutes before I spread it on the graham crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States