Pecan Praline Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Use a cookie sheet with sides. Also, the sugar and butter will taste burnt if cook for too high or too long so watch out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I tried this recipe twice on Christmas Eve & it messed up. :( I did everything the recipe said too, but my crackers ended up soggy both times & all my pecans just fell off! It was almost as if there was way too much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This recipe is simple and delicious with a few modifications. I've been making this recipe for about 20 years except I add 1 tsp. vanilla w/ the nuts and I don't use cream of tartar. You need to bring butter and sugar to a rolling boil for approximately 2 minutes, remove from heat and add nuts and vanilla. Spread over crackers immediately and cool. They should be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I have used a similar recipe for years (mine does not call for cream of tartar, but uses butter AND margarine with the light brown sugar). I boil my butter/sugar mixture for about 2 minutes (stirring constantly) until it looks bubbly. I do not put the pecans in the mixture because they get lost in the liquid and are not evenly spread over the crackers (some crackers will have a lot and others will have none). I sprinkle them on the crackers and then carefully ladle the sugar mixture over the crackers. The mixture will seep under the crackers, but if the crackers are floating in it, you have way too much. I just try to make sure the pecans and the tops of the crackers are coated with the butter/sugar mixture and I often have some of the mixture left over that I use on my next pan of pecan cookies. Then I bake them approx. 10 mins until the crackers look bubbly in the pan. It will harden as it cools, but I use a pizza cutter to roll between each cracker while they are still warm. Otherwise, it is difficult to cut them apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
took to work and everyone loved them, gave out several recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kinston, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Wow! So easy, so decadent! I pulled the mixture off the heat as soon as I saw it start to bubble and it worked out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I agree, that these taste wonderful. beautiful toffee flavor. However, it does not say how long to boil. I always boil candy very slowly so the sugar can disolve properly. I let it come to a gentle rolling boil and against my better judgement, took it off the stove and poured, then baked. It seems as though it is too sticky, or gooey. Is this how it is supposed to be? almost a bit too soft. I've made the popularity cookies and they turned out perfect like toffee.(same premise but w/saltines). also, I'm trying to figure out how u would get 35 grahams in a pan that size. I would suggest cutting the grahams in half. a whole graham per serving *as shown in pics) would be too rich, IMO. great flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
OMG! These are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WonderWoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Great, great cookies with a fantastic flavor and crunchiness. And, so easy to make! I tried baking the cookies last week. Following the recipe exactly as was provided, I found the cookies too sweet and too greasy. But when I brought a batch to work, my colleagues (mostly women !!) loved them. Still, I wanted cookies that are less sweet and greasy. So I baked the cookies again a few days later, using 3/4 cup of butter and 3/4 cup of brown sugar. I also chopped the pecans into tiny pieces and adjust baking time to 9 minutes. The result was exactly as I wanted: there was enough liquid mixture to cover all the graham crackers, good distribution of pecans, sweet enough cookies, less greasy and super crunchy. My colleagues all agreed the second batch was better and actually just amazing! Thank you for a great recipe. It will be a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I'm rating this based on looks alone. I just took my stuff out of the oven and they look PERFECT. My mom has made these before, so I know what they taste like. I followed this recipe - not sure what her recipe is like. I didn't mix in pecans - simply because they're really not my favorite. Instead, I sprinkled the top (before baking) with sliced almonds. They look beautiful. I also lined my cookie sheet with parchment paper. Both cleanup and cutting should be a cinch. I was worried that I would have sogginess or pooling butter or other problems that people had. I melted my butter and brown sugar on medium heat until the butter had melted (I kept stirring it during this time). Then I turned it on high until it came to a boil. I could tell the syrup was ready because it coated my spatula. I think that's the best way to test it. When it coats your silicone spoon/spatula. Before I boiled it, the butter wouldn't even let it stick to my spatula. So I could tell once the butter and sugar came together by the sticking. Anyway. It worked for me! I'm very excited to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States