Pecan Praline Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I have made these several times and have actually had people kiss my feet when I served them. For people who have had problems, this is what I do and they always turn out great. Make sure the cookies lay flat in the pan - don't stack them. I use 12 full graham crackers, broken in half (24 halves) and they fit the pan perfectly. Bring the ingredients to a light boil, stirring contantly. As soon as the butter and brown sugar form a homogenous syrup, take them off the heat, add pecans (I also add some vanilla here), pour over graham crackers. It should JUST cover the graham crackers, you may need to spread it with a spoon. Immediately put in oven and bake on NONSTICK pan. Let them cool until they come off in one piece, but no longer. Put on foil to cool COMPLETELY and harden before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Five Stars for Ease of use and Tastes Great. I was pleasantly surprised! Let mixture cool 5/10 minutes to spread easier. Husband and Kids loved and want me to make for Thanksgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
These are wonderful. I've only made them 3 times and have had numerous people ask me for the recipe. They are out of this world while still warm from the oven. Addicting for sure!! Thanks for a great "keeper" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
These cookies are fantastic, and so quick to make. Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
Fantastic cookie! My family loved them. However, it is not clear how to use 35 graham crackers in a 10 by 15 inch pan. I was able to squeeze 10 graham crackers into the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
I finally manage to scoop this recipe from my aunt to compare with this recipe since a few of the reviews scared me. The recipes are identical except an explicit statement that says: DO NOT BOIL the mix but simply heat and stir until brown sugar is completely dissolved and to let it cool for about 10 minutes before pouring slowly over the graham crackers. This is a little time consuming but definately worth it in the end! Mine turned out just as anuty has always made them :) Update: Apologies, I didnt look at the pan size, my cookie sheet is roughly 12x16 and fits 35 crackers perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
I couldn't see the point of adding lots of butter and sugar to ready made biscuits but was curious to find out why everyone seemed to like these. My boyfriend liked them, I ate a few but can't imagine making them again. They were a tiny bit soggy and you just know that it's butter oozing out of them. I don't find the idea appetising for some reason
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TequilaGirl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
What in the WORLD did I do? LOL! I bake many cookies, and I've never had a recipe flop so miserably. I followed the recipe exactly, but first of all, it doesn't say how long to boil the ingredients. So as soon as mine came to a rolling boil, I added the pecans and poured it over the crackers. #2 Graham crackers do not sink. lol! Basically all the liquid ended up underneath the crackers. #3 The crackers turned to mush, and although the liquid thickened, it did not harden, so there was no way to eat these as "cookies". There was no substance, just a layer of soggy cracker surrounded my a rich liquid. If any of you have suggestions, I'd love to hear them. I can't imagine what went wrong, but unless I hear a great suggestion, I won't be trying this recipe again. Too bad...the ingredients sound heavenly! Ally
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
omygosh debbie!! these r the best cookies i have ever eaten. i made them for my knitting club and all the ladies gobbled them up. ^^^^^^^^^^thank u for sharing your recipe with all of us!! we luv u!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I followed the recipe to the letter and something went wrong some where. I had a hard time getting them off the baking sheet, it seemed more like a candy then a cookie bar. It sounded so... good but some where it went so... wrong for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States