Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Very good, all flavor and texture. But I had a problem: just had clear corn syrup and no time to spare, so I used that one and golden sugar instead and came out just great. By the way, if somebody doesn't like super sweet stuff I would cut the sugar to 1 cup only. This is a great recipe, try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by **Jude**

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chihuahua, Chihuahua, Mexico
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Photo by bucka06
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I love this recipe! ! its amazing my grandmother who has been making her own pies for over 60 years called me to continue making this pecan pie because it was so delicious my first time making it for her was this past thanksgiving and I'm making more today thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I made this for Thanksgiving, but never got the chance to try it - this 5-star review is based on all the ranting and raving of everyone who ate it. It was fabulous, and I loved the attention that I got for making it! Will definitely be making this again, no changes, just as is, and happy to do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Labron Doss
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This is the closest recipe to my grandmothers. Awesome !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Labron Doss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Delicious! I don't know if I measured wrong and but too many nuts in, or I measured right and the recipe called for it, but my turnout was a little too dense for me. I like to let the gooey corn starch mix shine in my pecan pie, and the nuts over took it a bit. Regardless, it was a huge hit! Even my husband who doesn't like pecan pie much really enjoyed the pie this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is a great, flexible recipe! A true keeper. I used honey and brown sugar instead of sugar and corn syrup, and toasted my pecans with a little honey and salt, upped the total nuts, and chopped half of them finely and left half whole. This thing was gone in like ONE MINUTE. I don't usually like pecan pie because I don't like the "mystery goo" gelatinous stuff between the nuts, but this one was great. I think chopping half the nuts finely really made that goo impossible to form. We live in Texas, so there are some SERIOUS pecan pie fans in me and my husband's family-- everyone said it was the best they'd ever had. Literally, everyone. That's almost impossible to achieve in this group! Thanks SO much :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenistaKaty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is my first pecan pie and my family loved it! I am not a fan of this type of pie and prefer fruit pies, but I have to say, this was not nearly as sweet as I was afraid it would be! I halved the white sugar and added 3/4 cup of brown sugar, giving it more of a carmel taste, which was much more palatable. I also topped the pie with pecan halves, adding to the presentation. Either vanilla bean ice cream or whipped cream tops this delicious dessert off well! Must chill to set pie, so don't be daunted if it looks liquid-y out of the oven. One last thing...... edit your recipe to combine the water and corn starch and add after the sugar/ butter mixture has boiled and been removed from heat. I used a deep dish pie plate, but believe me when I say a standard 9 inch plate is plenty big enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I've always tried to make Pecan Pie. It never seem to turn out right. I saw this, tried it and my family loves it. My husband is not a big fan of sweets so I used less the sugar and he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I have never made pecan pie this way until I made this recipe. It was the best pecan pie I have ever had, and everyone else loved it too. it wasn't way too sweet like most others. its was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mitra Doublem
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
The pecan pie was outstanding. Only part I would tweak is just a little less time in the oven as it seemed to be a little over done. Otherwise it tasted absolutely outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitra Doublem

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States