Pecan Pie VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
Gave this a try for a change of pace, and was pleasantly surprised. I used Splenda and 1 1/2 Tablespoons Molasses to cut back on sugar, and it was a nice treat. Sometimes, those syrupy pecan pies are just too much, and I'm glad to have an alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
There is no karo syrup where I live. I'm from Texas but have lived in Scotland for 10 years. There is no Thanksgiving here either but there IS in my house. I love pecan pie but never have it anymore. This year I just wanted to be traditional so I searched until I found this recipe. It's fantastic. You've just gotta try it. I never knew you could make a pecan pie without corn syrup. But YOU CAN and it's better than I ever imagined. The only thing I did different is I accidentally bought dark brown sugar so I just used 3/4 dark and 1/4 white to tone it down a bit. Worked a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Porte, Texas, USA
Living In: Cumbernauld, Lanarkshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
I loved this. It's so good--kind of butterscotchy, I think. Quick, easy, tasty. I wouldn't skip the chopped pecans--love the crunch. The pecans on the top become nice and toasty, with great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waunakee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
Quick, easy and delicious. Not as sweet and syrupy as regular pecan pie, but still has great flavor. Would use less butter, maybe 2-3 tablespoons. Make sure you use deep dish as recipe states. This is a pleasant change and definite "make again".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
Very nice recipe, I like the custard texture better than the syrupie one I usually get with pecan pies. I dont agree with another reviewer about too many pecans, but I love pecans. My bottom crust did not cook and it took about 1 1/2 hours to set but I think a glass pie plate would resolve that I used a foil one. Great pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CURBKICKER
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I will forever use this pecan pie recipe. I ended up making 2 regular pies with the filling instead of one deep dish and they turned out beautifully. My father-in-law ate a whole pie by himself and has requested another one for Christmas. I love this pecan pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
Absolutely great! just like the ones my great aunt used to bake. I always roast the pecans first to give an even more "old fashion" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
This is an easy pie to make and has a very smooth texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
Richer flavor than recipes made with corn syrup and not quite as sweet. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
This recipe was awesome!!! My family really enjoyed it. Every time I looked my husband was enjoying a slice. This will definitely be a recipe that will be used over and over and over again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States