Pecan Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
After eating this, my husband said, "Make it this way, always." Says it's the best pecan pie he's tasted. Pecan is his favorite, and he's eaten quite a few different recipes in his 51 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I am from the south and this is a very dry pecan pie recipe. I will not make this again. In the south we like our pecan pie moist and sticky and this DOES NOT fit the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DMorgan
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I took Chef Dawn's advice, baking the pie for 15 minutes at 350, then for an additional 50 at 300. I also added additional whole pecans to the top. This pie turned out great. Not too sweet, just very tasty. I was worried about the dull film on the top, but it didn't affect the taste at all. Will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Not sure if I did something wrong, but this turned out very dry for me. The flavor was good, and I actually preferred the texture over a traditional gooey pecan pie. I could eat it while holding the pie piece, rather than with a fork, so it was more like a bar. Followed the cooking advice of other reviewers: start at 350, reducing to 300. Worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This is a 5-star pie in terms of taste! As others have said, it is not overwhelmingly sweet and I would attribute that to the lack of Karo. In terms of baking times, I think others are correct. I started at 350 for 10 minutes, then turned down to 300 for another 40-45 minutes and that was perfect. Even with the lower temp I still had to use a crust shield to not end up with over-brown edges on the crust. When I adjusted the temp I followed the suggestion to place pecan halves on the top of the pie in concentric circles. Very good advice as it really added to the presentation. This recipe is definitely one I'll go back to - everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Made it for the first time and took it to Christmas dinner. Someone told me it was the best pecan pie they ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
BEST PIE EVER! For years, I used my ex-MIL's recipe, even though no one really liked it. This year, I wanted something different, and I loved the idea of not using corn syrup, since my husband's main complaint is that pecan pie is too sweet. Even though I made this without a crust (we're gluten free) and I used GF flour, it came out perfectly. This is so good heated and served with a blob of ice cream on top. I will never use any other recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I made this pie DAIRY free by substituting vegetable oil for the butter and soy milk for the milk. I then added a sprinkle of pecans and dark chocolate chunks (dairy free) on the unbaked crust before pouring in the other ingredients. I then read the reviews about cooking at a lower temp for a longer period of time. It was very delicious and will for sure make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Jones
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I was so happy to find a recipe for pecan pie that didn't have corn syrup in the ingredient list... This pie was easy to make and SUPER DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This was the first pecan pie I made. It turned out to be so GOOD! I read all the reviews and used the most useful: 1. use a DEEP 9 inch pie pan, 2. eggs should be room temp, 3. add one half cup more chopped TOASTED pecans, plus one half pieces of pecans, not toasted, placed on top of pie before baking,4.longer baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,557) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States