Pecan Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I agree with other reviews - this is the best and beats Karo syrup any day of the week! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Awesome recipe! I didnt add white sugar as someone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
No question. This is the best pecan pie in the world. Even folks who thought they didn't like pecan pie were in love with this recipe. It wasn't gooey and sickening sweet. Not using Karo syrup was the secret. This was like a New Orleans praline in a pie crust. Simply delicious. Easy to make and our new favorite holiday pie. I may just make it when it isn't a holiday!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Felicia
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Not as visually appealing as a corn syrup-based pecan pie, but it did taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shy2Shine
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Pecan pie was easy to make and very delicious! One way to check pecan pie is ready is by jiggling pie and it should wiggle only a little in the center. Pie needs more time if it is still liquidy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Made it twice. Both times it was excellent. The first time the top had a crunchy sugary crust, but not the second time. The only differnce was the eggs were a bit older. I also used two cups of pecans. My father is a foodie from New York and he is very hard to please and he LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I made this exactly as written except added half pecans placed on top. The sugars crystalized and the texture was gritty and just as sweet as my old syrup recipe. I will return to my tried and true recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LibertyBelle78
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
You don't understand: You NEED to make this pie. My previous go-to recipe was a chocolate pecan pie with an all butter crust. I didn't think that could be improved on. Then I made THIS PIE. My husband, who does not like pecan pie, publicly declared this to be the best dessert he had ever tasted: at thanksgiving - in front of his mother. I was thrilled....I just had to pretend I didn't hear him. We can't insult Mama's cooking. I did add a handful of dark chocolate chips on the bottom: I couldn't help myself. I added 3/4 cups of chopped pecans to the filling mix instead of one whole cup. I baked the pie for 15 minutes at 350, and removed the pie and added 3/4 cups pecan halves to the top to make it pretty. I lowered the oven temp to 300 and baked it for 50 minutes, only to be rewarded with PIE PERFECTION. No strange gelatinous insides, no fused-together pecan mass on top. This was what a real homemade pie should taste like. This will become a holiday tradition for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This was great. I had been looking for a recipe without corn syrup. The only thing I changed is that I left the pecans whole and added 6 oz of chopped dark chocolate. The sugar was a little gritty so if I make it again I would add the hot melted butter to the sugars and stir until combined, then add the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Madson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I tried this & it was well received. After following the recipe I made the following changes: All brown sugar (gives it a deeper flavor), toasted the chopped nuts & increased to 1 1/3 cups (richer flavor & helps carry sweetness), when turning down the oven I took the pie out and arranged halved pecans decoratively on top of the pie. Also followed 400 for 10 minutes 325 for 55 minutes. Everyone's oven varies slightly, read the recipe/reviews & you'll get the idea. Pie will be set at edges & jiggle in the center. It will set up as it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,668) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States