Pecan Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This recipe is fenominal! I usually "doctor up" recipes to suit my family's taste buds, but have not been able to top this one. OH SO YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I added a dash of Bourbon and this pie was fantastic. My new favorite recipe. Now, if I can only figure a way to make it dairy free... The pie does not get syrupy once cut, as usually happens with a corn syrup pie. One of the people who ate it at Thanksgiving thought it had chocolate in it, too. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I've never been a fan of pecan pies even though I love pecans. The filling has always been a turn off for me. However, since it's one of my husband's favorites, I tried this recipe and we both loved it! I added more pecans than called for to decorate the top after pouring the filling into the crust but otherwise didn't make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This was the best pecan pie I have ever made. My family scarfed it down with not a crumb left. Even my grown sons who normally don't eat dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Pecan pie is my husband's favorite and I am always looking for a slightly healthier version since it is always so sweet. I liked the idea of no corn syrup and I used the only flour I had on hand for the crust which was a white whole wheat flour. Other than the crust, I followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Most of us thought it tasted great but definitely not as sweet as a typical pecan pie. My husband missed the super sweetness so I will try adding a little more brown sugar for added richness. Still a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christa Hoffmann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This is the only pecan pie recipe my husband and I will use and people are ALWAYS raving about how it's so yummmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Sorondo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I, personally, didn't care for the taste... a bit too "buttery" for me. Also, it did not make a pretty pie... it had the soufflé type top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I really disliked pecan pie before I happened upon this recipe. Mostly pecan pie brought shivers just thinking about the overly sweet dessert that was usually too high in corn syrup and too low in pecans. I decided to make it for my other family members who happen to enjoy the rush inducing slice of sugary goodness. Enter this recipe. Right off the back I was happy to see the lack of corn syrup. It's a super simple, straight-forward recipe that relies heavily on technique. I've made this pie four times all with varying levels of success. I have baked it too long at 400 and in a panic reduced it to 300 and baked it low and slow covered with foil. That pie was so delicious, chock full of nuts but a little dry. Add ice cream. My second and third attempts I used an off brand brown sugar and followed baking temps and times and covered with pie pans after the temp drop. This resulted in a custardy creamy layer and nice layer of nuts. My latest attempt I followed all directions precisely omitting the foil and pie pan cover which when taken out had the deceptive crystallized goodness that is the top crust only to yield soup when cut. We baked it longer. 10 more minutes...until I felt like I couldn't risk the quality of the nuts. It firmed a bit but still looked quite runny. However, after letting it sit overnight it firmed up a bit more and is now only slightly caramely, lending nice moisture and texture. This is my favorite so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Byers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I made this exactly how the recipe says and it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I toasted my pecans first, then coarse chopped them. This was very creamy and tasted great. My go to Pecan Pie recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jistanich

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,679) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States