Pecan Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This is a 5-star pie in terms of taste! As others have said, it is not overwhelmingly sweet and I would attribute that to the lack of Karo. In terms of baking times, I think others are correct. I started at 350 for 10 minutes, then turned down to 300 for another 40-45 minutes and that was perfect. Even with the lower temp I still had to use a crust shield to not end up with over-brown edges on the crust. When I adjusted the temp I followed the suggestion to place pecan halves on the top of the pie in concentric circles. Very good advice as it really added to the presentation. This recipe is definitely one I'll go back to - everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Made it for the first time and took it to Christmas dinner. Someone told me it was the best pecan pie they ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
BEST PIE EVER! For years, I used my ex-MIL's recipe, even though no one really liked it. This year, I wanted something different, and I loved the idea of not using corn syrup, since my husband's main complaint is that pecan pie is too sweet. Even though I made this without a crust (we're gluten free) and I used GF flour, it came out perfectly. This is so good heated and served with a blob of ice cream on top. I will never use any other recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I made this pie DAIRY free by substituting vegetable oil for the butter and soy milk for the milk. I then added a sprinkle of pecans and dark chocolate chunks (dairy free) on the unbaked crust before pouring in the other ingredients. I then read the reviews about cooking at a lower temp for a longer period of time. It was very delicious and will for sure make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Jones
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I was so happy to find a recipe for pecan pie that didn't have corn syrup in the ingredient list... This pie was easy to make and SUPER DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This was the first pecan pie I made. It turned out to be so GOOD! I read all the reviews and used the most useful: 1. use a DEEP 9 inch pie pan, 2. eggs should be room temp, 3. add one half cup more chopped TOASTED pecans, plus one half pieces of pecans, not toasted, placed on top of pie before baking,4.longer baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I decided to try this recipe because I was looking for something different from the sticky, icky, corn syrup recipe. WOW! This was perfect. Sweet and light (compared to the corn syrup) and infinitely better. The whole family liked it. I definitely will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This is my fourth year to make pecan pies with this recipe. Oklahoma is a place you don't mess with traditional recipes, so I was hesitant at first because I feared my grandmother would never speak to me again for baking a pecan pie and not using her syrupy recipe. The very first time I made it, she LOVED it! My family doesn't even ask me if I'm making a pecan pie, they just request I bring two or more! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This was awesome! I made this using the crust recipe from All American Apple Pie by Amy (from this sight). I only made the bottom crust. I live in a Germany where American packed brown sugar is hard to come by so I used just brown sugar in regular sugar form ( hope that makes sense). It still turned out great. Much better than the pies that use syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Just didn't look as appetizing as old fashioned recipe using karo syrup. Many people at Thanksgiving asked what kind of pie it was...not a good sign. Plenty left over...will go back to original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,563) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States