Pecan Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I really disliked pecan pie before I happened upon this recipe. Mostly pecan pie brought shivers just thinking about the overly sweet dessert that was usually too high in corn syrup and too low in pecans. I decided to make it for my other family members who happen to enjoy the rush inducing slice of sugary goodness. Enter this recipe. Right off the back I was happy to see the lack of corn syrup. It's a super simple, straight-forward recipe that relies heavily on technique. I've made this pie four times all with varying levels of success. I have baked it too long at 400 and in a panic reduced it to 300 and baked it low and slow covered with foil. That pie was so delicious, chock full of nuts but a little dry. Add ice cream. My second and third attempts I used an off brand brown sugar and followed baking temps and times and covered with pie pans after the temp drop. This resulted in a custardy creamy layer and nice layer of nuts. My latest attempt I followed all directions precisely omitting the foil and pie pan cover which when taken out had the deceptive crystallized goodness that is the top crust only to yield soup when cut. We baked it longer. 10 more minutes...until I felt like I couldn't risk the quality of the nuts. It firmed a bit but still looked quite runny. However, after letting it sit overnight it firmed up a bit more and is now only slightly caramely, lending nice moisture and texture. This is my favorite so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Byers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I made this exactly how the recipe says and it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I toasted my pecans first, then coarse chopped them. This was very creamy and tasted great. My go to Pecan Pie recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jistanich

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Amazing recipe turned out great! My whole family loved it! I only wish I had bought more pecans for the recipe. I bought exactly what was needed for the recipe and would've liked more. Next time I will use 1 1/4 cup per pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
seriously amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
My mom loves pecan pie. I made this just for her even though she's the only one in the family who likes pecan pie. I made it at Thanksgiving. She was so excited. I was just hoping it would turn out. I read the reviews and lowered the temperature as most said. My mother tried it and finished her piece, but when asked, she finally admitted the recipe was not a good one. She said that she definitely preferred the recipes with the Kyro Syrup. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CyndiM
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I have made this pie multiple times. It's delicious and has no syrup. The top of the pie comes out fluffy but I think when you over whip it that is what cause the souffle type top. I made this as the recipe stated and changed nothing. It was delicious warm. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I made this pie for Thanksgiving and boy was I disappointed! This pie was insanely sweet considering it doesn't use corn syrup. I couldn't get myself to finishing my slice because of how sugary it tasted. My cousin and aunt agreed on how it tasted, BUT my sister-in-law loved it!! I also gave a big slice to my friend the day after and she said one of her friends are willing to pay me to bake her another one! I've definitely made better pecan pies before, so I would give this 2 stars, but because I got some positive feedback, I'm willing to give it 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This is a wonderful pecan pie recipe--melts in your mouth good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Not only was this recipe easy to make, my husband LOVED it! I will definitely be making it again for him soon! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,653) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States