Pecan Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I was little apprehensive making a pecan pie without the corn syrup but this turned out very well, maybe just a tad too sweet. If you have a wicked sweet tooth, you’ll love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This was my very first attempt in making a pecan pie. I immediately liked the fact that it didn't call for as much sugar (including corn syrup) as most recipes. Only issue I had was cutting into it before it was completely cooled (waited only 2-3 hours), but the next day, the pie was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresburg, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
By far the best pecan pie ever. I made it once for my boyfriend and he loved it. Now he asks me all the time for it. Brought it in for the office and they all loved it. It's not gooey and sticky at all and it is so scrumptious. Very easy to make...even easier to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I have been searching for a pecan pie recipe that does not use corn syrup. This is because i never buy/use it and do not want to waste money buying a full bottle just for a recipe. I tried this recipe tonight and am very happy with the results. I LOVE pecan pie. I have tried making one years ago and failed (undercooked on bottom and burned on top) causing me not to try again. Until today that is. I followed the recipe except i totally forgot to add the flour. Pie still came out great so i don't know how it would be if i did add the flour. The other small changes i made (after reading the many reviews) was i toasted my pecans first and i used a little less then the 1/4 cup white sugar (like half of that). I added an extra 1/2 cup pecans on top (as i do love pecans). Baked it in a Pillsbury pie crust using a 9" tart pan (did not have a pie pan). I did 350 for 15 minutes then lowered to 300 for 35 minutes. I put 50 minutes but it started to crack at 35 minutes so i turned it off. Had a slice warm. It was moist and yummy. Will try more tomorrow to see how well it taste overnight. Overall, i will definitely make this again and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bclark101
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I love love loved this recipe!!! I used a chocolate graham cracker crust. In used Stevia in the Raw instead of white sugar. 10 minutes @ 400, 10 minutes @ 350, 15 minutes at 325 and 15 minutes at 300. Topped with cream cheese flavored whipped cream. FLAVORGASM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Fantastic pecan pie recipe! Making it this year for the fourth year in a row. It always brings raves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Jean White

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This pecan pie is super easy and the taste rocks! Everyone in my family said this was the best pecan pie they had ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Made exactly as described, except the baking temperature. Based on the recommendation in various reviews, I started 350F for 15min, then, 300F for 55min. Liked the appearance when came out of oven. I noted when I poured the filling in the pie crust, pecan sank in the bottom part of crust, and I couldn't see much pecan on top, so I gently mixed the filling in the crust by using a fork, so the pecan came back to the surface of the pie. Not sure how much difference this would have made to the surface appearance of the pie, but there was a nice blend of pecan on the surface of the pie, so I liked it :) The filling was less gooey as compare to the traditional recipe, perhaps due to not adding corn syrup, but again, I liked this way. For me personally, I didn't need an extra 1/2 cup pecan (additional) on top (as many reviewers suggested), and I still tasted plenty of pecan in my piece of pie. I saved an extra 1/2 cup of pecan for my next batch :) Yum, Yum, Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montycat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I am not a fan of pecan pie - waayyyy too sweet for me. But my daughter requested a pecan pie and I chose this recipe to make. I wasn't even going to try a piece myself but she insisted and, OMGosh! Fabulous!! I am now a pecan pie lover. Who knew pecan pie could be this delicious and not cloyingly, disgustingly sweet? After reading many of the reviews I did as many of you did and reduced the temperature to 300 degrees for the last 40 minutes and eliminated the white sugar. I also toasted the pecans for the filling for a few minutes in the oven and added 1 cup halved pecans to the top when I reduced the oven temp. I cannot thank you enough for this recipe. It is a favorite at our house now and is devoured almost as fast as I can make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
We recently moved to a lovely 1830's farmhouse in SC. The property has over 20 pecan trees. I have never made a pecan pie before because I really did not want to bother. But pecans are falling out of the sky now :-) so I thought it was time. I never use corn syrup so it is not an option in our house. This recipe was spot on! The only two things I did differently was leave a mixture of whole and chopped pecans. And I toasted my pecans for about 5-7 minutes on 350 degrees. Second change came from another reviewer and they suggested to brown the butter and then let it cool before adding it. It got rave reviews and it deserved them. I used a recipe for an awesome butter pastry crust and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,554) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States