Pecan Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
(Better with margarine) The first time I made this pie, I was out of real butter so I used margarine instead. It turned out great with no other adjustments. The next time, I made it with real butter and the top became like soufflé as mentioned in some of the other reviews. Use margarine for best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I have successfully made one (precisely one) karo style pecan pie. Because it is my boyfriend's favorite dessert, I have attempted (unsuccessfully) to recreate that first miracle of pecan deliciousness many, many times. To my utter dismay, I could never get them to set. I had thus given up the battle of the pecan pie, until I recently ran across this recipe...oh sweet mercy. I followed the mixture of this recipe exactly and it fit perfectly into a frozen deep dish pie crust (though I almost changed the amounts based on another review that said it wasn't enough). I did, however, follow other people's suggestions and baked it longer and at a lower temperature than the original recipe stated. 300 degrees F for 50-55 minutes worked perfectly to set the ingredients. The difference, in my "culinarily-challenged" opinion, between the karo and the brown sugar recipe is that this one is more caramel-y in texture (maybe not quite as over-poweringly sweet) whereas the karo version is more syrupy in texture and definitely cavity cringe worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Great recipe!!! This was my first pecan pie and it was a good success.Super quick and easy to make. I made it for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. i recommend this recipe to any pie lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Prepare a homemade crust and it is a wonderful dish to bring to any holiday gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Tried this recipe for Thanksgiving this year and it is a winner. I have made many pecan pies using corn syrup and they haven't always turned out so well. I love this new recipe, it is easy and the pie turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summerstar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
The best! Will chop the pecans. Hard to cut when they are whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Bunny
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Paired with iced apple wine (creates a toffee apple combo on the palate)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
It's a great recipe for nut lovers! I have made it with walnuts instead of pecans. And I think it will work with hazelnuts or almonds or even peanuts! Definitely have to try everything=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
My Family loved it, I was so glad I found a recipe that did not use dark and light syrup. It taste even better the next day I really recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Wow!!! That is the only word I can use to describe this recipe. It was a huge hit over Thanksgiving. Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,562) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States