Pecan Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I'll never make pecan pie with corn syrup again! This recipe doesn't have that sickening sweetness usually associated with pecan pie, but it DOES have that scrumptious nuttiness. Thank you, Elaine Helms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
Oct.25/08....Still as awesome!! **Update--This is still the best pecan pie around. Yes the top isn't the nicest to look at, but, nevermind that. It's the FLAVOR of it that is to die for** If I could give this ten stars, I would. I never have corn syrup, so this works perfectly. This tastes amazing!! The chp nuts are definitely better. Super easy, I use my hand blender for the eggs, and butter mixing. Makes it nice and fluffy. I use the brick margarine, and you'd never know the difference. A must for dessert!!! Thanks Elaine. ***Update*** This is still by far the best tasting pecan pie I have ever had. I get asked all the time by friends and family to make this. This is the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
If you find it difficult to get the custard to set up just right in your pecan pie, try this recipe. Comes out perfect every time. Regardless, if you like pecan pie you MUST try this recipe. I have made many, many pecan pies as it is our favorite pie. This is far better than the corn syrup recipes I have always used previously. This is my new favorite recipe for this pie. Thanks Elaine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
This recipe is fantastic - Never make the Karo Syrup recipe again! I'm disappointed I didn't have this recipe years ago - it is infinately better than the standard corn syrup recipes, and just as easy. This recipe tastes more like real pie, instead of like candy. I also recommend using Mrs Smith's deep dish pie crusts instead of the cheaper lard crusts - it bakes better. Warm the eggs to room temp before making this recipe - will keep the butter from clumping when you add it to the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1634 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
Absolutely wonderful! I had never made pecan pie without corn syrup. And never will again. Turned out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
Excellent!! A friend of mine (who has made pecan pies all of her life) had doubts when I told her it had no corn syrup, but she loved it and asked for the recipe. I liked it better than the traditional pecan pie, because I personally don't like the taste of the whole pecan. I chopped the pecans on the food processor and it was wonderful. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This was wonderful and my family adored it. I did use candied pecans instead of regular pecans, which added a little more sweetness. Overall, I will never go back to my old pecan pie recipe... this one is here to stay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
This tastes more like old fashioned pecan pie. I hate pecan pies with karo. too sweet and sticky. this one is to die for. Passed the test for my 80+ year old dad--tastes the way he remembered his mom making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Excellent. As good as any pecan pie I've ever made. I'll never use the corn syrup recipes again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
WOW!!! I am not really a pecan pie person- mainly because I don't care too much for corn syrup. My grandmother wanted a pecan pie for Thanksgiving, so this is what I chose. I'm so glad!!! And it cuts beautifully- no runniness. Thank you so much for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,547) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States