Pecan Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This was fantastic...just right in my opinion...made it twice...each time topped with whole pecans, brushed with melted butter and sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar...it is divine...love the no corn syrup and it is still wet enough...this disappeared both times I made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I usually find pecan pie too sweet. But I had a lot of pecans and wanted to make a pie. When I saw this recipe, without syrup, I decided to try it. This pie is the BEST pie I have ever had; I am usually a chocolate or cream kind of person. I did add 1/2 more cup of pecans and put half pieces on the top so it would look pretty. also I did not have milk, so I used half & half. I did not have light brown sugar, so I used 3/4 cup dark brown and 1/2 cup white sugar. I had to shell more pecans in the middle of making the pie, so everything sat for a while, too. I followed the recipe for the temps. But covered the crust with foil b/c it seemed to be getting brown very soon. I am not sure why, but the top formed a crust (beautiful, but hard to cut). I could not resist this pie and told my husband I would only make this pie to share b/c I do not want to get into the habit of eating a whole pie between just us. : ) I am still craving it 2 weeks later. The filling was rich but not as sweet as the syrup pecan pies. This was truly a gourmet pie. Others who tasted it said it was the best pecan pie they ever had, too. Will be making again to "share."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I substituted Gluten free flour mix for the reg flour & it turned out terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I love pecan pie. This goes together in a snap and is the best I've had. No more half empty bottles of corn syrup! I use 2 cups of pecan halves instead of chopped pecans and I always overdo it on the vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Loved this recipe! I had never made pecan pie before, and I will definitely use this recipe again. I added 1/4 cup of mini semi-sweet chocolate morsels and took other reviewers' suggestions of cooking at lower temp for longer period of time. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
However, I made this lower fat and less sugar and I think it was even better this way! I decreased the white sugar to 3/4 cup and cut out 1/4 cup butter and replaced it with applesauce. It was fabulous and without that teeth-ringing sweetness that pecan pie often has - everyone loved it this way, better than the original!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Very very sweet and rich, but isn't that how pecan pie is supposed to taste? Yep. Lots of compliments, but everyone ate it slow and only had one slice each. Maybe pair it with something to mellow out the sweetness?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I made this for New Year's Day today. Is was so simple. My husband sais it was the best pie ever!!! I added a 1/4 cup of chocolate chips, used unsalted butter and cooked at 300 as other reviewers lowered the temperature. Will make again!! Better than buying in a bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This pie is delicious. We make it without the dairy, substituting the butter for oil. I previously omitted the milk and this time I have added coconut milk. The smell alone is heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Delicious and easy! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,562) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States